, attached to 2019-12-08

Review by billy_croaker

billy_croaker I understand the controversy surrounding this show. I personally liked it. The song selection made me laugh out loud several times. What some refer to as “leftovers” I perceive as “butcher’s cuts”. Many of the tempos were downright frantic (buried alive, my sweet one, mound...) and it felt like they (and we) were barely hanging on. Chalk Dust Reprise accentuated this fun theme of a band of crazed, musical windup toys spinning out of control. Downright hilarious. Petrichor was as tight a version as I have ever heard. Just beautiful. Everyone should have seen this one coming since Charleston was the place where it debuted in 2016. I’m not a huge fan of Soul Planet or Rise Up/Come Together, but these versions caught my attention. Extreme ok songs that were played very well. The encore was a huge treat. Pebbles and Marbles gets me every time. Izabella was the highlight of the evening.
, attached to 2019-12-08

Review by imdano

imdano I think everyone in this dialogue and others are correct; sacrificing the quality and execution of an individual show in the name of a gag that runs over the course of a tour is unwise, and tired. This show clearly suffered at the expense of the gag, which they've already done better at BD. Agree. I do want to give Big Red some due credit for Sigma Oasis, though. He has been putting out some pretty, shall we say, tiresomely optimistic music recently. I don't think there's a single good song on GotF, and the Soul Planet/Everything's Right/Set Your Soul Free stuff is boring and unworthy of his name. This new tune stomps though. and I'm glad to hear that he can still do it after all these years. Attaboy!
, attached to 1989-01-28

Review by Feelin_good_about_Hood

Feelin_good_about_Hood While no known setlist exists, I recall and have managed to confirm several of the songs played at my this show, my very first Phish show.// Three memories stand out above all else about this night. One, Trey was engaged and playful as all get out. This show was hosted by my co-ed fraternity, the Tabard. The Tabard was a local Greek house that many years earlier housed Dartmouth's Sigma Chi chapter. An old portrait hung in our living room/concert space of a past Sigma Chi dignitary. He was nicknamed "Norman Pinball" by us then-current denizens.// Trey implored the 60 or 70 of us there during his song intro whether we knew whose portrait that was. My friend and Tabard president, "D", shouted "Norman Pinball" again and again, his pupils as large as saucers. Trey, nonplussed, dropped the band into a churning, chugging [i]Wilson[/i] after informing us that the portrait was that of the Duke of Lizards! And, that [i]Wilson[/i] next seamlessly charged into [i]Peaches en Regalia[/i] after stomping our collective shit.// Two, the second set saw a friend of the band, the Dude of Life, take the stage with a mic in hand. The Dude of Life and Phish regaled us with a [i]Back in Black > Freebird > Iron Man[/i] mini medley that taunted as much as it titillated. The Dude left the stage, but not our hearts.// Three, my first Phish show and my only Zappa show from August 1984 had something in common - a [i]Whipping Post[/i] encore. Yes, I was ~hooked~.// What else did they play that night? I am certain that they covered or played the following after continuing to see the band regularly through 1997 and consulting with other friends afterward: [i]Walk Away, La Grange, Sanity,[/i] (fast, of course) [i]Fire, Good Times Bad Times, Fluffhead, The Sloth, Mike's > Hydrogen > Weekapaug Groove, [/i]and[i] Run Like an Antelope.[/i] Phish had introduced us to a musical fantasyland that had us rocking, laughing, jumping, dancing for our lives, and drenched in sweat when the show ended. I really wonder how this show would hold up now. It was a punchy, frenetic, fun show that would likely have people creaming their jeans over the Dude of Life's appearance and the cover-heavy sets. I also think people would f**k themselves an an opportunity to see Phish with 60-70 friends. I'm coming up on the 31st anniversary of this show. Where's the time gone!?
, attached to 2019-12-08

Review by aybesea

aybesea I generally try to keep to the "if you've got nothing nice to say, then don't say anything". But this tour has been taxing my patience... big time. I honestly don't give a crap what songs the boys decide to play. Fast, slow, dark, bliss, composed, woohs, whatever... but they need to jam... a lot. That's why I'm a Phish fan. That's what they do so well that virtually no one else does. But this tour, with its sing songy, lots of songs per set, micro-mini jam (to the point where it doesn't exist) nonsense is not what I'm looking for in a Phish show. Sure, there have been some exceptions... but this show is a great example of Phish as a standard band playing a whole bunch of songs. Sure, some of them are "deep catalog tracks", but again... where's the beef? I really hope that the NYE run takes us to the other extreme. A 5 song second set sounds just lovely about now!
, attached to 2019-12-06

Review by TweezingSpaceRanger

TweezingSpaceRanger I'm a big fan of this show. Phish played with a very fun, loose energy in this one. The Carolina and Party Time were a great opening combo to a three-night run and the crowd was loving it. Strawberry Letter was one of several excellent calls tonight. Undermind was stronger than usual. The Sloth and Destiny Unbound both had some noticeable flubs, but the song selection and the mini-jam (!) in Destiny Unbound kept the energy high and the flubs were forgiven. MFMF and About to Run pair well together. Bowie had some interesting moments and was an excellent way to close the first set. Great start. The second set was fantastic. Axilla had the crowd raging and the teases later in the set were very fun. The Scents with the intro has to be my personal favorite jam of the tour. Trey seemed confident and in control throughout the jam, there were multiple Axilla teases, a section of dark funk (!), and what I thought sounded like a Mind Left Body type progression near the end of the jam. No Quarter was a perfect call after a jam like this. Your Pet Cat was spirited and funky with Page doing some funny and unique things with the cat samples for a bit of the jam. Mercury had a minimal funk jam turned tropical that was very enjoyable despite not peaking like I would have liked. Saw It Again was awesome and Trey was cracking up. Limb by Limb had a great jam that was really weird in a good way, especially when Fish started singing This Old Man. The next thing you know we're back in Gamehendge with my personal favorite highlight of the night in a great version of The Lizards. The floor was a party during this song with room to dance and people singing the lyrics but not too loud to take away from the band. Another solid call in Suzy Greenberg offers more Axilla teases and closes the set with a little more funk. Bittersweet Motel was a treat along with the funk/rock combo of DDHVL/Loving Cup. Overall, this was my favorite show of the weekend start to finish and I think it is slightly underrated. I'd give it a 4.2 or 4.3 max if it was up to me. What a beautiful buzz.
, attached to 2015-10-16

Review by Wisy_Megabeth

Wisy_Megabeth Strangely this show is one of the only in recent memory NOT on Live Phish. Still don't know why that is....it was a great show! Came out for this one on a pleasant-enough October night, not 10 minutes away from where I used to live in Brooklyn. Ah the memories. Little did I know that Trey would soon really outdo himself far beyond "Paper Wheels" territory. I never really got into that album, minus "Speak to Me," the first song, and "Bounce." Luckily he played two of those this show. Please come to King's again, TAB!
, attached to 2019-12-08

Review by RobbieTwoShirts

RobbieTwoShirts This was a Sunday show I could’ve missed and been ok with. Had a good time as always but everyone knows the second set was a bit weak. I heard the they weren’t doing repeats but I dont know if this was just fans saying this or the band making a conscience decision for this short tour. I would have liked a tweezer in the second set but the encore was definitely fire. And it goes without saying Friday and Saturday were fire.
, attached to 2019-12-08

Review by mgolia6

mgolia6 View from the couch! As with any show I start off overly optimistic and work to sustain this optimism throughout the show. You never know when they will strike and so must keep your wits about you. This is doubly important from the couch where the distractions entering into the air space of your attention. How easily your dogs lying by the fire cuddled and cute can cause the innocent bystander to lose focus on the matter at hand. That being said I felt engaged during the first set, taking advantage of the fact that I could, for once, see the expressions of all members faces and close up musicianship at work. Treys guitar work started off strong and his energy, as well as with Page and Fish, could be felt, if not outwardly seen. Mike, while always seemingly aloof, appeared much more distant. There was a point in the first set, and this seem to continue, at points into the second, where it just looked like Trey was playing but little sound was being produced. It could have been the stream, I’m. It totally certain. Anyway, mid second set, comfy as clam nestled deep in the sand, I found my attention slowly wander. I made it as far as Petrichor and then it happened. I fell asleep. I wouldn’t say the playing was entirely at fault, song choice being what it was...and it was a “school night” & the wife’s pregnant so I limit my intake quite drastically. Like many nights I might fall asleep watching television, when I wake I deny the fact to anyone looking to call me out on dosing off, myself included. Pebbles and marbles had just begun and my stream had not cut out, it couldn’t have been too long, right? When chalk dust reprise ended and the bows were taken I was anxiously awaiting the encore. Little did I know that was the encore. Raise the lights & cue the credits. If I am looking at the show in its totality, removing any specific song bias, which I feel I do well at times, poorly at others (this show being the former), the flow was inconsistent, lacked cohesion and any semblance of connectivity in relation to cadence, (however frenetic it may be sometimes, the roller coaster start and stop and ebb and flow, sideways and slant ways often times have a underlying cadence) and lacked the attention grabbing that many shows have. Song selection whether stymied by the band’s inability to connect, to themselves or the audience, along with a partially contrived expectation of not repeating a song, left this viewer longing for something. At least with BD there was a theme each night which laid a foundation for cohesion if only on that underlying thematic level. I went to bed oddly satiated with Phish whereas I normally leave a show (in this case, leaving my living room for the bed room) with a powerful desire to see more, to catch the next show wherever and whenever that might be. I was caught off guard tonight by that feeling of complacency. Thanks for listening, if you did, or disagreeing, if you did, or agreeing, if you did, or ignoring m, if you did, this humble narrator’s thoughts. Side Bar: and you heard it hear first: I would be interested in webcasts having guest hosts, like sports commentators, who must be present or in attendance that are allowed a half time recap and then a show ending wrap up. Cutting between College Football and the webcast on Saturday at halftime I had this vision of the two merging. No play by play of course. Anyway thought I would share.
, attached to 2019-12-08

Review by SimplePhishin

SimplePhishin I find it hard to complain about show where I cross multiple songs of my list that's capped off with f&$cking CDT Reprise!!! If tonight didn't jam hard enough (or at all) for some of you, and no repeats is somehow played out, trust me I get it. For me though, everything following After Midnight (hinting we should stick around until then for the goods) to Beneath the Sea of Stars was the Band giving us nutballs a jovial "fuck you's guys". Energy was ironically played in a very low energy 2nd set in another wink from the band. Trey only giving us the hilarious and coveted CDT Reprise after making us eat some cheese with our ballads and orchestral composition. How can you eat your jams if you don't have any pudding?! This show should be appreciated for what it is as much as what it wasn't for some people. This grateful fan won't soon forget this odd ball tour closer any time soon. Torture torture torture Chalk Dust Torture!
, attached to 2019-12-08

Review by stealmyface

stealmyface Watched this from the couch, so I don't have the attendance bias. Thought first set was solid minus Crazy Sometimes, not a huge fan of that song. Sigma Oasis had a fun guitar line and I could see that getting the extended treatment in the future. Old school The Curtain was sweet, transition into Mound was smooth. Brian and Robert got me a bit teary, as this "one" is for "us". Frost also just simply gorgeous and a reminder that not everything needs to be a rager. Set 2 had an opportunity to take off at several points and never got there. After Midnight>STFTP should have been a more high energy pairing instead of Stealing Time. Transition into Energy was hesitant and awkward, jam out of that into Soul Planet was cool and subsequently Soul Planet probably had the most improv of the night. IAWITW was super fun, but Petrichor suffered once again from placement and sucked the energy out of the set. A short Boogie On was funky and great and should have been extended. Not a fan of Rise/Come Together. Encore was awesome. Playing was a bit rough but hard to complain about those tunes. Fun Fall Tour. Can't wait for MSG!
, attached to 2019-12-08

Review by Wisy_Megabeth

Wisy_Megabeth Now that we have this 2019 Fall Run in the rearview mirror, I think Nassau must be at the top, certainly in the top 2. All in all, it was a lovely little tour and brings us all a new chapter in "the Phish from Vermont," as Trey giddily remarked to the crowd to end the Charleston weekend. Say what you will about that show, who in their right mind would see a "Chalkdust Reprise" coming? That Plasma bit to close it all out made me laugh on the way to work on a miserably raining Monday in New York, and who but this band could do that? I kept thinking about how nuts it was to be like "show's over," and the BOOM - a few measures of "Plasma." WTF, Phish??? For all the new Phish we got in the 2018-19 creative spurt (Kasvot, numerous tunes not on Big Boat, GOTF, Vida Blue, Mike's band) Nassau has some of my personal favs in "Everythings Right," "Ruby Waves" and "SANTOS." Top that with maybe the best bust-out of the tour (all 2019??) in a thoughtful ode to Lou Reed, along with some classic 80s Phish and you've got a winner. Coming out of the gate with Ghost-Rift bliss for nearly 20 minutes and inserting a smoking hot "Tube" in the first set also sends this show into the tops of the tour. Certainly a strong contender for best set of the tour IMO. Anyways, not much to say about the closer. Soul Planet. Yep, we're all riding on one! Can't wait for MSG and wish everybody the best in the holiday season!!
, attached to 2019-12-08

Review by tron1013

tron1013 Went solo last night, only show I could make. Had to work today so dipped out after Energy and got an Uber with no wait, think I made a wise decision. First set was decent, Buried Alive, Mound and Alumni Blues > It's Ice were highlights. Playing After Midnight at like 10pm-ish was bizarre and kind of indicative of how disjointed the entire second set was (but the crowd liked it). Definitely not sad that I missed Petrichor, which I saw when it was played for the first time as the opener of the 10/14/16 Charleston show. Trey needs to keep that one in reserve for when he plays with philharmonics and solo shows.
, attached to 2019-12-03

Review by ErnieMcCracken

ErnieMcCracken Fair warning, I have never written a review or even felt compelled to, so bare with with me. However, given the reactions to this tour I'm hoping to shed some light as I was lucky enough to be in attendance. I'll spare you all of the "experience" narrative as that has been covered in detail. I'm also not trying to argue for ratings (as everyone already knows they are the all sacred higher power we must adhere to when judging a show) but I'm afraid of the fun moments that any fan would/should enjoy listening to, being overshadowed by the stream complaints, exclusivity backlash, and lack of "big" jams. So if you are someone who actually likes listening to phish and not just complaining about them online (its a joke, learn to laugh at yourself you negative nancies), I'm hoping I can provide you with some quick highlights based on my relistening this past week and being in the crowd. Yes, the 2001 is the only jam that really gets exploratory but the first Tweezer of the night packs a fun punch that begins to slightly soar before a silky smooth segue into Free. KDF also takes a turn towards a serious peak before ripping back into a funky Tweezer (third of the night) that is absolutely worth the quick listen. While only 13 min CDT does more than I remember in person and is a fun little micro jam (sue me) that around 9:40 gave a brief flashback to the to the tone of Trey's magnaball effect. (Anyone else hear that or am I just crazy?). The Mike's Groove was a blast in person and despite any real jam the tight rocking Mike's Song was something I remember really getting the crowd going. The Weekapaug is the real highlight however, with the ass-handed jam as a fun cherry on top to the groove that looks pretty passable on paper but is a fun listen at the very least. 2001 is the winner of the night. Hall of Fame? No. Are you too good to listen to it? Mike says No. Overall, it was a fun tightly-played show that will give you stuff to be happy about if you look for it. Will I enjoy relistening more given the fact that I was there? [s]Probably[/s] Absolutely. All I know from what I saw this tour it seems to be pretty evident the band is having serious fun every night and showing no signs of stopping. That stokes me up more than a 20 min jam every night.
, attached to 2019-12-08

Review by JMart

JMart I just have to chime in agreement with the sentiments expressed in most of these reviews. Sometimes phish doesn’t seem to be able to get out of their own way. Ripping highlights like alumni blues and after midnight were far outnumbered by outright head scratchers, both in terms of song selection and placement. The internet seems to lend itself to superlatives of both varieties, so I won’t go so far as to say this was the worst phish show I’ve ever seen, but it’s certainly waaaaay up there.
, attached to 2019-12-01

Review by Wisy_Megabeth

Wisy_Megabeth Now that we have this 2019 Fall Run in the rearview mirror, I think this show must be at the top, certainly in the top 2. It was a lovely little tour and brings us all a new chapter in "the Phish from Vermont," as Trey giddily remarked to the crowd to end the Charleston weekend. Say what you will about[i] that[/i] show, who in their right mind would see a "Chalkdust Reprise" coming? That Plasma bit to close it all out made me laugh on the way to work on a miserably raining Monday in New York, and who but this band could do that? For all the new Phish we got in the 2018-19 creative spurt (Kasvot, numerous tunes not on Big Boat, GOTF, Vida Blue, Mike's band) this show has some of my personal favs in "Everythings Right," "Ruby Waves" and "SANTOS." Top that with maybe the best bust-out of the tour (all 2019??) in a thoughtful ode to Lou Reed, along with some classic 80s Phish and you've got a winner. Coming out of the gate with Ghost-Rift bliss for nearly 20 minutes and inserting a smoking hot "Tube" in the first set also sends this show into the tops of the tour. Certainly a strong contender for best set of the tour IMO. Can't wait for MSG and wish everybody the best in the holiday season!!
, attached to 2019-12-08

Review by Xpanding_Man

Xpanding_Man I caught most of Saturday night despite trying to study for my last final of grad school, so I knew Sunday had big shoes to fill. Best part of the show (for me) was getting an Alumni Blues suite, literally the day I finish a 3-year journey of a Finance MBA. God I love this band! That said, I'll echo other reviewers by noting that the show lacked cohesion in my view. Highlights for me were clearly in the first set and the fun encore. Guelah is always great to hear, and Curtain sans With was had a decidedly old school vibe. Alumni through Walls was solid, with It's Ice having some particularly fun funk, and Trey sounded completely switched on during the finale. Second set started strong, and I had another "get out of my f---ing head" moment when I head Energy, a rarity which they played on my 40th bday show in Atlanta in 2013 and that for some reason I had been hearing in my head the last few days. When Wingsuit dropped, my jaw hit the floor, but my wife reminded me that sometimes the band plays songs for their own reasons. Petrichor through the end was largely par for the course, which by Phish standard means it's still better than almost anything else happening on the planet :) Perspective is nice. I missed the irony of playing a song called Come Together on the anniversary of Lennon's assassination until just now; I doubt it was intentional. I love P&M, and from there it seemed like they tried to raise the energy level for the tour closing encore, and actually succeeded. I love when this band gets silly and I got that from the encore for sure. Overall, my main memory from this show will always be hearing the Alumni Blues! It's allright, 'cause I got a degree!!
, attached to 2019-12-08

Review by kevtree

kevtree I'd just like to make a point in reference to the review by [i]Itch_to_the_nag[/i]: sure the no repeats thing is an endeavor, but based on the fact this show is insanely dense with songs, I think it's silly to blame that feat for the lack of jams and poor song choice (timing). Considering all of the options they had, they could have strung things together better, or if they were feeling it, jammed out half of the songs in the second set. Sometimes IT just doesn't happen, and that was tonight. My interpretation was more the following... they were maybe exhausted and things weren't syncing up, and so Trey made a call to go out with a bang (in a way) and play a sheer quantity over quality show. Like hey, look at all of these songs we still have to play. Sure, it's gimmicky, didn't really make for a good show, and has already been done before, BUT I think conflating it to the reason the show didn't vibe is wrong. Sick encore. Not so sick everything else.
, attached to 2019-12-08

Review by DevinB

DevinB Let's be honest: this wasn't a very good show. The second set seemed to be cobbled together from leftovers, which -- as another reviewer noted -- made for a long and somewhat tedious program. It was heavy on ballads at inopportune times. It wasn't cohesive. Neither set was able to gain much momentum, but the second set really fell off a cliff and never came back. I'm sorry if that upsets you, but the band is not infallible and there's no need to trash one another for being honest about that. And if I'm being honest and objective, I felt the show was about half-good. I thoroughly enjoyed The Curtain (without!) for the first time in a long, long time. I would also be insane to complain about the Chalk Dust Reprise. The bulk of the encore, really. As with ANY Phish show, there were flashes of brilliance. There were a couple moments (see: Walls, Midnight) that absolutely tore the roof off the place! But for every moment like that, there was also an obscure cover, a newer ballad, or a generally jamless song in the wrong spot. And, look, I had a blast in Charleston. Tonight was my 70th show. It wasn't monumental or even particularly memorable. That's fine. Five good sets and one colossal bummer still averages out to a pretty good weekend. I love this town. I love this community. And, despite my criticism, I still absolutely love this band. If you had a good time tonight, great! I'm thrilled. If, like me, you didn't, know that a lot of people agree with you and Phish shouldn't be some sacred cow to us. It's ok to not like a show every now and then.
, attached to 2019-12-08

Review by Itch_to_the_nag

Itch_to_the_nag While the no repeat run is impressive for about 99.9% of bands touring today, it was an unflattering look for phish tonight. Forcing themselves to play songs just for the sake of not repeating created a disjointed 28 song show. Dropping petrichor late in the 2nd set was the epitome of unnecessary. For a Sunday “tour” closing show this fell extremely short and might be the worst show of the run. Nothing was misplayed but nothing even sniffed the deep end of the pool and a barrage of 5-8min songs left this fan wanting so much more. No real relisten able moments based solely on completing a gimmick that was already achieved at MSG in ‘17 was very disappointing. As the show unfolded it became crystal clear that we were going to be forced into moments tonight that nobody really wanted in order for phish to complete their “mission” It’s been a long time since this band let me down in this fashion. The old adage...even the worst phish show is better then no phish show barely holds true here. This run produced plenty of amazing moments but tonight just wasn’t one of them.
, attached to 2019-12-08

Review by HarpuaTheBulldog

HarpuaTheBulldog Look I don't honestly care about too much of the super insightful stuff or the critical analysis, but I will say this. I had been calling for Chalk Dust Torture Reprise for YEARS. It's been one of my favorite songs to talk about and hope they play some day. I had resigned myself to the fact that they would never play it again and it would always be shelved as a meme. When they started jamming it in the encore I just about exploded. How can this band continue to amaze night in and night out! Literally 7,089 days, 540 shows, and 19.5 years since the last Chalk Dust Torture Reprise. That is ANCIENT in modern day Phish. I now know how people felt at Hampton 86 with the Box of Rain, or at Formerly The Warlocks 10/9/89 with Dark Star, or at 2/28/03 the Destiny Unbound. This was my personal Destiny Unbound, this was my Dark Star. More like Chalk Star. Thank you Phish!
, attached to 2019-12-06

Review by art_vandelay

art_vandelay As of this post, the second Charleston show has a higher rating than this one. Personally I disagree, and the replay value for night 1 has been solid and consistent. Many funky moments, many dark moments, and several meaty servings in set 2. Hell, I'd argue that there's alot you shouldn't sleep on in set 1 either. My 12-year old daughter's first Phish show, and she enjoyed it (as well as night 2). She didn't dance or move around much, because in her words, she was ultra-focused on watching the lights complement the music. As long as she was having a good time, I don't care if she stands on her head during the show, lol... Again, night 1 is my pick, mainly because I was digging the phunkiness... if you're into that, check it out! Even so-called bathroom songs like "Your Pet Cat" are performed with enough butt-shakin' groove that you may consider holding it in til later :)
, attached to 2019-12-07

Review by art_vandelay

art_vandelay It was definitely a fun show to be at, and on paper it's an eye-opener. While overall it's an enjoyable re-listen, there are a few bum moments that even the staunchest phan might not be able to ignore...the biggest whiff is the 4:26 mark of "Guyute", where Trey and Fish fall out of sync, and the two of them stumble for nearly 15 full seconds. Ouch. That aside, I appreciated the chances taken in the 2nd set, and the lengthy Drummer Boy tease gave my daughter a big smile. That alone gave me my money's worth, and sometimes maybe the young 'uns know best after all, lol... Out of the two Charleston shows I attended (had to skip night 3), IMO the first night has better replay value from start to finish...however, I've heard others say the opposite, so I guess it won't hurt you to check 'em both out!
, attached to 1995-10-22

Review by 10a_cJedi

10a_cJedi This was on of the absolute finest nights I've shared with you'll! We really had a flow between us in that ship, on that brisk fall night. It was our 1st time the building, it proved sufficient for future stops. [b]People of Champagne, Surrender! You've been conquered! [/b] "It's the freakiest show Take a look at the Lawman Beating up the wrong guy Oh man! Wonder if he'll ever know He's in the best selling show?"
, attached to 2019-12-07

Review by Wisy_Megabeth

Wisy_Megabeth This was a bit of a flubtastic affair but a fun show. Little drummer boy was cool and the Reba jam owned as usual. Many times this tour Fish and Trey have just missed each other at some key moments in iconic tunes - tonight Guyute got the treatment. Maybe a little practice on these extremely difficult songs would benefit? Looking for the Sunday heat!!
, attached to 2019-12-07

Review by PedalSteeler

PedalSteeler ***Make Phish Evil Again*** Fun show! The jamming wasn't totally cohesive, but the band was in great spirits and the heavy helping of composition pieces were lovely. The EVIL sections in Guyute were RIPPING, and Fluffhead and Reba were both rock solid by 3.0 standards, to my ears. Honestly, I'm in awe that they can remember the words to 200+ songs, and frankly. STUNNED that they can execute these demanding passages that 98% of musicians in the world wouldn't even attempt in front of club-sized audiences, much less arenas. Kuroda's work during Mr Completely was AMAZING, as well. Borderline TOO good, as it was actually distracting me from the music at times. Such a treat. Lastly, I'm really thankful that they are enjoying and putting in time rehearsing the barbershop vocal pieces for this tour. Sure, we're here for the musicianship, but I always felt like what set '94-96 apart from other eras was how great they were singing together. Their hard work spills over and gives choruses on Nellie Kane, Strange Design, Squirming Coil and others a little extra sparkle that goes a long way in keeping the crowd smiling and engaged in the nooks and crannies in between the big improv sections that get most of the attention. Ever Grateful, PedalSteeler
, attached to 2009-08-11

Review by Dusty_Dirt

Dusty_Dirt Being a fan and growing up through the hiatus, when I could finally go to shows on my own, made this show special. Even got to share this show with my brother who helped me get into phish. Came back from Colorado for a visit allowed this show to happen. The Paul and Silas was a great phishy song that made me feel the early vibes. Curtain with was and remains a favorite live phish tune. Second set aptly starts with bdtnl as the second set took us back. Fun times at this show. Jumped back in Again in 2012 after following every dead reincarnation. Phish for life!
, attached to 2019-12-07

Review by nesta

nesta Trey did it again. I wasn't even in the house tonight and i teared up during that DrummerBoy Jam. How they seamlessly incorporate the joy fo christmas and the darkness of the unknown into that handful of music. Then the Dirt hit me and back into a little DrummerBoy. I lost it. Maybe i am getting too old for this....
, attached to 2019-12-07

Review by farmhose

farmhose I got the feeling Page’s mom was probably in the audience tonight as the show seemed to celebrate Page in his many roles, from singing sensitive lead to raging merciless keytar. Squirming Coil brought me to tears thinking about how his mom took him to piano lessons and now here he is shredding solo piano in an arena and receiving the ovation of thousands of screaming fans
, attached to 2019-12-06

Review by youenjoymyghost

youenjoymyghost First night in Charleston was a success. Inspired improvisation and a great setlist on paper mixing old classics and some newer favorites. The Carolina opener was something I was really hoping for and I was pleased to see it. First set was compositionally heavy and ambitious in my opinion with my friend, divided sky, and David bowie. I thought they were all played very well. Destiny unbound was an extremely welcome addition, and the jam flirted with breaking through. Strawberry letter was a sweet treat as well. Second set Axilla appears and continues to tease us all night, rocking start ! Scents and Subtle sounds had an exemplary outing, spreading and out and taking space and dissolving rather abruptly back into ether. First No Quarter of the year emerges from the ambiance another welcome surprise. Cats scream and mercury comes out at night with a some nice improv. We all saw it again as CK5 shines brightly with webs of mangled light trusses that continue to amaze. The most surprising highlight was possibly Limb by Limb, with its strongest outing in quite some time. Incredible jam. What a night. Will we get repeats this tour? What's left? I think we will all be surprised.
, attached to 1994-11-26

Review by SuspiciousAngora

SuspiciousAngora Out of all the shows I saw this one sticks with me on many levels. I drove up by myself from my small town in Northern Illinois. I asked my parents if I could borrow their car for the night. I was told yes as long as I didn’t leave town with it. I proceeded to drive 2 states away. I had an ex that lived in Minnesota and went to St Olaf. I went and met up with her and her new boyfriend. Some hardcore punk kid. It was awkward all around. He had a real disdain for our joint musical interest and did not join us for the show. I remember scoring 2 hits from some freaky lady in the parking garage before the show. The theater itself was lovely. So intimate. Every seat in the place was a good spot to watch and listen but being a theater with seats it made it more difficult to dance. Not impossible but more difficult. Since I dropped while walking in I have a pretty good memory of the first set. It was well put together and I was super into Possum at the time. I just loved the guitar solos in all the bootlegs I had and wanted to see another one. I didn’t fully appreciate the one I saw at my first show since it was all new to me. Of course I was peaking by the time Bowie came around and it wasn’t a particularly clean hit. I got quite uncomfortable and the opposite of the blissed our feelings I had had at other shows. I remember being excited that they played Rocky Top as an encore as it was the first song I learned to play on guitar as a kid and the familiarity brought me back to earth. I walked out of the show thinking it was over too quick. It felt like the shortest concert I had seen by them. At the time I didn’t realize I had seen such a long Bowie. I only remember being stuck inside my head for most of the second set. That’s about all I have left in the ol noggin about the show. I ended up staying over at the ex’s pad and when I woke the next day there was a horrible snow storm going down. I headed out of the twin cities and ten minutes later the Jetta went off the road and into a ditch. Lucky a pickup pulled over and pulled me out. When I made it back to Illinois There was not a snowflake to be seen. The car however was covered in snow. I pulled over two blocks from the parents house and cleaned the snow off the car. I told my parents about that night years later when I was about 40. I thought it was a funny antidote. They were less than happy to hear about it and told me to keep any other misadventures I may have had in my youth to myself. Figured I would share here.
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2019  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by End Point Corporation