, attached to 2014-07-25

Review by phishyeducator

phishyeducator My first show! I had been a fan of Phish since mid-late 1996, but a series of happenstances kept me from my first show until 18 years later. Yikes! But after finally having the chips fall in my lap, I was able to surrender to the flow in person, and enjoy the love and majesty that is a Phish show. Looking back, this show has the best of both worlds: Lots of old-school Phish (Mike's opener, Possum, MFMF, Bowie, Golgi all in the first set!), but enough of the (then) new material that was on Fuego to spice up the flavors a bit. The Mike's Groove to open was a pleasant treat! Kinda short, but deep and dark, this Mike's wastes no time getting the proceedings going in a great way. Back on the Train is a personal favorite of mine, but it was certainly a little wild having it as the meat in the Mike's sandwich! The rest of the set was well played, and Beauty of a Broken Heart was a rare morsel that we really enjoyed. The Bowie didn't go too far out there, but was appreciated none the less, and the first Golgi of Summer Tour was eagerly devoured as a upbeat set closer. Set II began with 555, but the real meat followed. Chalkdust had a nice little jam into Fuego, but it was the short jam out of Twist that led into When the Circus Comes that led to my "Aha!" moment of live Phish. Such a smoooooth transition, and it was a perfect moment for me! Piper was just getting going after the lyrics when Trey began rip cording into Rift. There seemed to be a bit of a "battle" between Fish, Page and Trey, but Trey eventually won out with the Rift theme, and they proceed to play a flubby, but energetic version. Waiting All Night, while I personally love this song and loved its placement, kinda gave a "oh boy, the set is done with [i]this[/i]" vibe, but they pulled out a hot and tasty Reba>Zero to end the set on a more-appropriate note. A Loving Cup encore sent us home happy and gave me a memorable end to my first show. Have been to several since and hope to continue the trend in the future....
, attached to 2018-10-21

Review by PhillyPhilly

PhillyPhilly Phish had piloted the Mothership though two very different magnificent shows on Friday and Saturday night. Into a black hole of dark ferocity Friday night, and rocketing among blissful cosmic peaks Saturday night. CK5's drone-firefly ballet creating an ever-changing porthole into different dimensions. And then it was Sunday. A supernova Tweeprise *must* be incoming as part of an all-timer Hampton Sunday show. How would it go down? Your reviewer is directly behind the stage, towards the top of the stands center-Mike side. This was your reviewer's first time behind the stage, and if you haven't had the opportunity, CK5's lights are remarkable to behold from the band's vantage, painting the crowd and arena in circles of light and star-bursts. Lights go down and Phish takes the stage to the roaring Mothership passengers who are ready to be beamed up. And Stealing Time is your opener, the Joy-album 3.0 rocker catching everyone a bit off-guard it seemed to me, as a "huh" moment passed almost visibly through the crowd: "this isn't exactly the opener I had hoped for/expected..." Spoiler: this sentiment would become a theme. Stealing Time does not care what you wanted and is its normal rocking self. The band conferences, perhaps sharing a Cliff Bar and some cold green tea, and out comes the opening scratchy-groovy tones of Little Feat's Skin it Back. As others have mentioned, Trey is visibly pumped to be busting this tune out for the Hampton crowd, and happiness (giddiness?) from Trey would also be a theme this evening. The band nails Skin it Back with aplomb, settles into a nice grooving jam, and Trey teases the sword dangling over our heads by subtly weaving in the Tweeprise progression. Brian & Robert follows and supplies a beautiful quiet reflective interlude. Timber emerges next and the Hampton crowd is immediately into it, swaying with Fish's rhythmic pounding. The Timber jam fades and the opening notes of Simple ring out. The moment Simple's traditional light ethereal post-"skyballs and saxscrapers" jam drops out into space (a minor key? your reviewer is no musician, let alone musicologist), a sense of momentousness gathered. The band spends a good while in soft spacey abstractness, not the scary variety a la Friday's Golden Age, but open and exploratory. Mike and Fish push on the low end while Trey and Page explore the cosmos. And then Trey, as he does in many of 3.0's finest examples of bliss jamming, finds a musical phrase, latches on, and pulls the band and the crowd together up towards glory. Towering celebratory peaks resound again and again through The Mothership, and the energy between band and crowd is palpable. The Hampton Simple is as satisfying a jam as I have experienced live and is, without question, a hear-at-all-costs version. We've all made our own journey to see this band, and each individual in the Hampton crowd exults with the band as they show us, once more, why we put our time, effort, resources, and love into this band and their music. What comes after the sublime joy produced by the Simple jam? Why it's your Mexican Cousin (my first time seen), brought to you by your friends at CID Entertainment, and you can kiss your Mexican cousin at Phish Riviera Maya 2019 (tickets on sale now, second mortgages available for qualifying buyers). Next up is Camel Walk, which Hampton pops for, and the band takes the camel for a very nice funky walk, extending the song close to the 10 min mark, much to the crowd's delight. The camel hops Back on the Train and we bounce along for the ride. Trey turns the BotT coda jam into a mini-shredfest, working the crowd back into a frenzy before the band drops into Saw it Again. Another first time seen for your reviewer, this Saw it Again is a flamethrower, screaming vocals feed into a tremendous cacophony soundscape, treating us to yet another fist-pumpingly powerful first-set closer. One cannot help but marvel at the rapid turnaround of Phish first sets. If there was one consistent source of criticism about the 3.0 era, it was the seeming lack of first-set vitality. The turn-around since the Baker's Dozen last year is nothing short of remarkable. In the last several runs/tours we have numerous examples of both creative set-list architecture and epic jamming in the first set. And you can add Hampton 2018's first sets to this trend, with Sunday's Simple in bold and underlined. If we are going to have epic jaw-dropping jams in first sets, perhaps some recalibration of our second set expectations is also in store? Phish opens the second set with Waves, another *huh* moment as this was not the Sunday Set II opener that perhaps many had looked for. Instead of a high-energy opener a la Disease or Crosseyed, or the still-dangling Tweeprise, the first jam-section of Waves washes over us, bringing a still beautiful but more understated and certainly more peaceful and delicate vibe. The second Waves jam section crescendos nicely, reaching out to the 14+ min mark, energizing the crowd as the band very smoothly segues into Rise/Come Together, another first timer for yours truly. Rise/Come Together is a song that I will admit did not *do it* for me after listening to tapes from its previous outings, but in person I get it, and it helps that, to my ears, this version straight up rocks. It is triumphant. We are a part of this band, and they us. And we come together and rise as one. The opening chords of Light ring out as R/C's jam fades, and Trey's vocals resound through The Mothership ("and the light is grooooowing brighter now"), offering a precursor to a very successful multifaceted jam that clocks in around 16 min, which appears to be the current comfort-zone for kick-ass Lights these days (looking at you Camden N2). And then we get hit with The Line. I've borne witness to many Lines at this point, and a few that hit mid-second set. Those mid-second set Lines are... tough to swallow. They really stick right in the craw there, when that craw really was more interested in another mid-set jam vehicle to keep the exploratory momentum of Waves and Light. So here's the moment where, I think from my point of view and from what I've seen from many others as well, you either can continue to try to enjoy the experience that Phish has chosen for you on this particular evening in this particular venue, or you can sink dejectedly into your seat, fume to your neighbors, take a piss break, or do whatever else you feel you need to do, and, consciously or no, sever the energy-link between yourself and the band. I try hard to pick the former route as many times as I can, but I understand the latter and there have been some nights when I too have gone that route. Tonight I do continue to stand, and sway, and enjoy The Line, and I am rewarded with what I thought was a very nice uplifting within-the-lines coda jam. Not quite jumping-up-and-down with energy a la The Line from Cinnamon night at the BD, but still quite enjoyable. Then Wingsuit hits. I enjoy Wingsuit and the Floyd-esque guitar soloing opportunity it offers Trey, but mid-Sunday Set II at Hampton immediately following The Line, I was less than thrilled. Again, despite straining against my expectations, Wingsuit's jam soars, soulfully uplifting those in the crowd who had not given up on the set. At some point while Wingsuit was winding down, I shit you not, I received a text (via a bump on my watch) from my cat sitter. I look up from absent-mindedly checking what was up with my furry feline friends, and "in the time of the Ancient Egyptians until today, many people have been cat fanciers. You are such a person." Am I being wiretapped by The Phish? Are they actually telepathically connected to us, as I think all of us have suspected at some point? I do not know but I am laughing maniacally as the caterwauling screeches send us into staccato/plinko jamming of Your Pet Cat. And it is a groovy cat, allowing the Hampton crowd to shake off some of that pent-up energy. After letting the cat out, we are asked What's the Use?, a question that I do not know the answer to but one that I always am glad to have posed to me by this band. Although I do like to hear/feel WTU? emerge organically out of a jam, the opening chords have a sort of system-shock capability when engaged in isolation, removed from another song's jam context. The Hampton crowd does hush during the exalted orchestration, albeit not as thoroughly (this was not "hear a pin drop" territory a la Magnaball). And, with WTU?'s power expended, it is time to dance our asses off for the Possum that I think we all felt coming for the entire run. This Possum raged, plain and simple. Long drawn-out intro complete with some William Tell Overture from Trey, an extended Trey solo that saw him briefly take the band into spacey pre-Type II territory, and then the thunderous return executed perfectly. Your reviewer suspected this could be the moment they hit us with that Tweeprise, but the moment passed, and so it was *obvious* that Tweeprise would close this Hampton run, putting an exclamation point on the weekend. Returning quickly to the stage, the band opts for More. I enjoy More as an encore and was pleased to belt out with my fellow Mothership passengers that, as we are vibrating with love and light, there must be something more than this. Obvious seg into Tweeprise right? *Buzzer* / *Price is Right failure chord*, Trey takes off his guitar and the band is taking bows. Of course we are clapping and yelling, the band deserves accolades and appreciation for this run had it actually ended at this moment, but the Hampton crowd is NOT WILLING TO LET THE SHOW END. The entire crowd continues to stand and scream, at the top of their lungs, after the band had exited. Mike's bass tech walks out, ready to get on with his post-show breakdown routine. The crowd does not like this man. They continue screaming. The house lights DO NOT COME UP. The bass tech freezes, as if unsure how to proceed. The crowd knows that second encores in the Phish universe are beyond rare, and yet we are not leaving and we are screaming for the band to come back out. AND THE CROWD GOES ENTIRELY APESHIT AS THE BAND WALKS BACK OUT. And, of course, Trey counts off YEM. If the Mothership could take off we'd have been beyond the solar system before the pre-nirvana section ended. To this reviewer's ears (attached to a head and body that was literally jumping for joy and emitting more maniacal laughter), YEM's composed section was close-to-nailed, with a thrilling sustain-note peak. The building shakes and resounds as we command unseen foes to wash uffize and drive us to firenze. As Trey and Mike did their synchronized bounces for us, the sections of the crowd they were facing popped in sequence. Trey rocked the traditional guitar solo. Mike destroyed the traditional B&D coda. And the vocal jam was rhythmic weirdness, as only Phish can pull off. The band bows. What a show. What a weekend. What a band. There would be no Tweeprise (despite the crowd's best efforts at conjuring a third encore). That's ok, I hope that Nashville gets Tweeprised and this Hampton energy transfers over to those shows and the remainder of this Fall Tour. I'm confident that it will, and although I wish I could attend more, if not all, the remaining shows, I will treasure this Hampton run and re-listen for a very long time to come. Good phishing everyone.
, attached to 1995-10-22

Review by AssemblyHall95

AssemblyHall95 This was my first show. I still can't believe that. What a way to start 23 years of musical adventure. As far as the show, all I really knew was Weigh, Fast Enough for You, and Sample In a Jar. I had heard Rift and Hoist but that was about it. But, this second set. All the way from Tweezer through Cavern, just unbelievable. I remember it was such a beautiful Sunday in October and just a great show. A funny story, when I first got to the venue we had to park kind of far away. I learned after an hour it was because they had to clean up the garbage from the football game the day before. Once they got that cleaned up we were able to park right outside the main entrance. What a great way to start what will be a run of 100 shows by the end of 2018.
, attached to 2018-10-20

Review by Skeets

Skeets My 14th show. And I saw seven (7) first timers. This show was incredible. Prior to making the trip to the Mother Ship, I texted my son and phellow Phish phan and said: "I'd be happy for ONE of Runaway Jim, Fluffhead, or Gotta Jibboo." Imagine my delight to hear ALL THREE!!! I took a friend and it was his first Phish show. We were on the floor all night. There were incredible peaks in several songs. The energy was off the charts. By the time Set 1 was nearing an end, a raging 46 Days was just the perfect tonic for what came next -- FLUFFHEAD!!!! Yes! After missing it by one show several times, and what a superb version. It was a full, epic Fluffhead with credible playing and a full on rock 'n roll "big finish". Loved it!! What was also unique and special to me was after this FIRST set, the band members bowed for at least 1-2 minutes -- soaking up the fan support. It was incredible to witness. Set 2 picked up where they ended with a rocking First Tube. Gordon killed it. Tweezer got the house rockin' -- happy Phish fans everywhere. This version deserves a deep listen. Some BEAUTIFUL jamming after the main composition. They really took this jam to some special places. The next three songs were really well-placed in my opinion. Dirt, BDTNL and NMINML were VERY well-played. Then Cavern -- which is always fun, wherever it lands in the sequence. I couldn't believe my ears when the first strains of Jibboo crossed over the expanses of the Mother Ship interior -- lifting my spirits higher and higher -- the jam on this took a while to develop and whether Trey was trying to "find it" or whether it was intentional "tension and release" is irrelevant. The jam caught fire and my first Jibboo ended STRONG. I thought that might close the set. Oh Kee Pa came nest and set up a sizzling Suzy Greenberg to end an incredible set. I was a bit surprised that there was no double encore. Shine a Light was going into Tweezer Reprise, right? Wrong! But the crowd was so appreciative. This concert was a blast start to finish. I loved every minute of it. 5/5
, attached to 2018-10-21

Review by ThomasFunkyEdison

ThomasFunkyEdison Before I begin my review, I want to let the readers know that I was in attendance and was overall blown away by the band's performance. They were a completely different band (in a good way) than this summer, and overall this was another solid Hampton run. After raging hard for 2 nights, the crowd (and myself) were much in need of a rocking, hardcore, classic Phish throw down -- and boy did they deliver during the first set. There really isn't anything you could ask more in a first set...and who doesn't love first set-second sets? Skin it back really got the place grooving and set the tone for the rest of the set. B&R slowed it down for a brief moment before kicking it into second gear with Timber. Timber was short, but groovy. Simple is next and boy is it a monster. My favorite Simple in recent history. They waste no time getting to the jam segment, which had several themes including a dark funky jam featuring Trey on the wah pedal, and several minutes of their newly developed sinister fall 2018 type II jam style. The jam ends with a multi-tiered, non-telegraphed peak which sent the Mothership into a frenzy. It is so refreshing to see them regularly jam in the first set, for me it makes the show more exciting and unpredictable. Mexican cousin was a fun little rarity which lead into Camel Walk. Near the middle of Camel walk Trey gives the "lets keep this going" signal and it erupts into another funk-wah jam. Saw It Again was an absolute head-banger, ending in a cacophony of sounds akin to the bakers dozen "I am the Walrus." It was one of those times where you could feel the music rattling your bones. That capped off arguably the best first set of the year...and left us all itching to see what they'd do in set two. Trey was the clear leader this weekend, really being patient with jams. He's clearly been practicing and getting to know his new pedal board and toys. As incredible as the first set was, the second set was equally as lackluster. With the kind of energy they built, and the theme and direction they seemed to be heading, none of the songs chosen in the second set built on that energy. In fact, the song selection took away from it, in way. The songs are well played for sure, but there wasn't really any flow. Waves was a great jam, albeit an odd set II opener -- that said, it's always fun to get songs in unusual placements. The jam in waves is beautiful at first and eventually develops and moulds into the more haunting, dark space that was found on many occasions this weekend. the -> R/CT was smooth as butter, but that was the first indication of where the set was ultimately going. Light was next and boy that jam really got the place rocking. Definitely one of the highlighs of the night. That said...the song proper of Light is way to fluffy and added to the flat song-selection (whereas, say a Mikes Song, Rock & Roll, C&P, etc would have really brought the energy back). The back-to-back second set killer combo of The Line > Wingsuit sealed the deal for this set. After The Line (much like BDTNL the night prior), they seemed to just patch the rest of the set together. Your Pet Cat was well-played and jammed out a touch more than usual, and of course WTU is nice, but nothign mind blowing or energizing. Possum was one of the better versions I can recall in 3.0 -- the intro was extended and they even briefly touched into that type II space, but after a set that kind of took the wind out of the sails, it felt like a weird, "easy" choice. More as an encore felt fitting for the set that just happened, and by then any semblance of the energy that had once been there was gone. Coming out for a YEM double encore was cool, but, almost fittingly, they called for the woo's, which this reviewer absolutely despises. Overall the show was really enjoyable, every single song was well-played, and the crowd energy was off-the-charts. All is good in the Phish world after this weekend, and I can't wait to see where the rest of the tour takes them.
, attached to 2018-10-19

Review by phishyeducator

phishyeducator Wowzers, whatta show! This was my maiden voyage in Mothership Hampton, and the energy outside was palpable. The security check was smooth and easy, and as we entered the inner sanctum of the coliseum, the floor was less than half-filled, so my buddy and I got about 50 feet back from the stage between Page and Trey. Sweet place to get our groove on! A great Strawberry Letter 23 opened the show in a surprising way and soon gives way to the first exploration of the night: Blaze On. After a nice jam leads back into the lyrics, it's like they decide it wasn't enough and goes on to jam for another 3 or 4 minutes. Tasty stuff! The rest of the set is well played as well, getting the 3rd ever Mock Song was a treat and Divided Sky was well played and pretty peaky at the end. Roggae fits in just right, and the Walk Away to end it got us all jumping and raging going into the break. Set II was just right. Carini got us started heavy with some good jamming that all-too-quickly led into Sand. Sand's jam was short but hot, and that led into a Golden Age for the ages. Soooo spacey and free, from the floor looking up at the ceiling it felt like we were being lifted off into the stratosphere in the Mothership. The Golden Age jam meandered through many phases and explored many places in it's 23+ minutes, from tasty licks to ambient spaces and gradually found its way into Twist. Twist was well played and led into a Mountains in the Mist that was so delicate and sweet, it was just what we needed to cool down and catch our breath. Meatstick was another appreciated song, and the SOAMelt that ended the set reprized the dark jammy themes from earlier in the set. Lizards sent us home with gigantic smiles on our faces, and as we all realized on the way out: the trick was to surrender to the flow.
, attached to 2018-10-21

Review by youenjoymyghost

youenjoymyghost The band proving once again that [b]We got it simple, cause we got a band. [/b] Monumental jam, a patient battle for momentum in the mid-section but when this one gets going it is unstoppable (at least until trey rip chords using the main theme but I'll take it) The crowd was whipped into an absolute frenzy from what I could see from the couch. Camel walk also had a stellar funky jam, he made it downtown to the disco and danced his ass off. Haven't listened to set 2 yet. But that first set is peak phish, so perfect.
, attached to 2018-10-21

Review by jakemaye95

jakemaye95 i believe that this was an above average great phish show. stay with me here. going to start with the second set. the second set, on paper, looks bad. and also, admittedly, even being in attendance there were some low moments. obviously hearing the line is never good. following it up with wingsuit (a song which, when placed correctly, can be very effective) was not the best choice. rise/come together actually was segued into very nicely, but still not my favorite song. that being said, the waves and the light are absolutely incredible jams. must-listen phish in my opinion. furthermore, the fourth quarter was quite good; your pet cat rages, what's the use is moving every time, and possum slaps. more encore - dang. maybe encore could've kept the momentum going. but the crowd was relentless and seemed to will the band back on. they delivered with a sick YEM - some nice peaking from trey, and then a rather good vocal jam (this from a guy who doesn't like vocal jams). tweeprise was missing - i wonder if they forgot or have some sort of plan... ok, now the first set. simply put, this was a nearly perfect set of phish, especially for a first set. stealing time is a fun opener, but the set really starts going when the drop into skin it back (first since 8/11/15 at the mann). this version rages - trey shreds. personally, i think brian and robert is a nice song to hear. timber contains a nice, albeit short, jam. then, simple begins. to cut to the chase, this is a magnificent phish jam. serious, serious hose the entire time. a sick minor funk jam leading into huge major peak. and it just kept going. each member dominates, but trey really shined here. truly MUST-LISTEN jam. mexican cousin is a fun come-down. camel walk! a fun song- what! a camel walk jam! very cool, some great fishman playing here. back on the train rages as per usual, and the raging continues with a simultaneously rousing and chilling rendition of i saw it again. an incredibly constructed set. if you only have time to listen to one set, certainly listen to the first. however, i strongly recommend checking out the waves and the light. What an incredible run. it was my first time at the mothership, and phish absolutely delivered. can't wait to see what's in store the rest of this tour!
, attached to 2018-10-20

Review by sagl57

sagl57 I thought this show was good, not great. Always fun to be in the room, but this one had some major ups and downs. First set had some great highlights: Jim nearly broke out to type 2 but got TreyDD’d, 46 days was fierce and Fluffhead was an absolute treat to end the set. The second set kicked off with a band with First Tube. I haven’t seen that song pump up a crowd that intensely since MSG 09. Tweezer was majestic. Beautiful, inspired jamming with a high register, major key section that was prettt breathtaking. Gotta Jibboo felt like it had a little extra mustard on it but didn’t really break the mold. The second set seemed like it was about to end a few different times, but Oh Kee Pa > Suzy was the best exclamation point we could have asked for. Ultimately I didn’t think this show could find the kind of relentless energy and adrenaline we got on Friday, but the band and crowd all had a fun Saturday night. 3/5
, attached to 2018-10-20

Review by PhillyPhilly

PhillyPhilly I think the reason I keep going to Phish shows (this run puts me close to 45 slowly shedding n00b status?) is because I always go in hoping that I’m going to see the best show I’ve ever seen. And my favorite band threatening to play the best live music I’ve ever heard is a very tempting dragon to chase, and it is oh-so rewarding when you get that big show you were after. Reading ‘13, Mann ‘15 N2, Magna N2, 12/30/16, each felt like “the one” and then I was privileged to witness five nights of consecutive brilliance at the Bakers Dozen, Double Chocolate through Holes. One aspect of the Dozen that I got a kick out of was everyone wearing the “13” shirseys, we really were all on Team Phish, seeing our team on what has clearly become as close to “home field” as it gets for this band, on stage at MSG, cheering as we saw victory after victory for the good guys. Which brings me to the Hampton Coliseum, and tonight’s show. I understood the bands history at The Mothership, but the GA energy is something I was not prepared for, likewise the camaraderie shown by the phans to whom ever happens to be their seat- or floor-mate. Truly special. Phish comes into Saturday night in Hampton after a full-on Fri night scorcher complete with a tent pole 23 min evil phish Golden Age jam. Ah Saturday night Phish. You will be a shred - filled rocker practically every time but will there be meat on the bones, as they say. Folks there was meat a’plenty. Your reviewer is approx 20 rows back on the floor center-Mike-side. Opener is the third(?) funky slow breed of Llama and Hampton is immediately a funky dance party. The intro to Fuego rings out, and this two-hole Fuego did not disappoint, getting the Coliseum rocking and joining in the “millennial whoa-ing” vocals before giving way to a short but sweet outro to cross the 11 min mark before melting into Jim. And it was a very nice Runaway Jim with a briefly extended middle section and rocking Type I jam taken past the 12 min mark. Next we get a surprise first set Bug (don’t feed it), fun to see Bug unusually placed and Trey nails the crescendoing glory notes of the Bug jam before a surprising segue into Mound, and the Hampton crowd is fully supportive as it obliges the Mound intro’s arms-above-head slow clapping. Mound gives way to this set’s next surprise, the multibeast riding jewel of Wilson’s foul domain, Tela. Trey does not nail this Tela but “it doesn’t matter” as Page and he drive the ballad to its traditional cathartic peak. Then 46 Days picks up where Walk Away left off bringing fist pumping heat before threatening to descend into a Type II deepend. Instead Trey lightly strums a familiar series of chords. Is it ? Yes Hampton it is, your first set closing Fluffhead, taking the crowds energy and focusing it into a laser beam , arming the Mothership for battle. Did this Fluffhead have flubs ? Yes. Do those flubs matter one bit? No they do not as Trey brings the room to as ecstatic a peak as I think I’ve witnessed as he wipes the fluff-balls off our heads. A raging Saturday S1 in the books. What will we get to open our 2nd set? Disease or Crosseyed ? Drowned or Waves as a reflection of the rainy day in southern VA? Nope it is Sat night and phish is back to continue rocking your face with First Tube. Trey shreds and the place is literally bouncing, energy immediately back up to 100 where we left with Fluff. While Trey is wresting the traditional feedback-screech of triumph as he holds his guitar up for us to admire, your reviewer thinks to himself, I think the only way the roof could be blown any more thoroughly is if this goes into Tweezer. They go into Tweezer. The floor of the Coliseum becomes a many-limbed dancing monster as the band tears into a Tweezer jam of massively rocking proportions. Peak after peak, this Tweezer jam was the business and gets to sit on the shelf next to Hampton 2013’s Tweezer as a most worthy successor. 18 min mark reached, Tweezer gives way to a gorgeous soulful Dirt landing pad. Number Line has the folks on the floor hugging and linking arms as old and new friends together decide what it contains: a short but powerful jam. No Mans comes up next, and it is a treat as a deep-second set rocker, as we let the band know we’re happy that they’re here. No Mans jam crosses the 12 min mark before the heavy drum stomps signal for Cavern. Tough to take care of your shoes on the Coliseum floor, it is a sticky situation down there. Set closer Cavern right ? Incorrect, and the next-to-last surprise setlist choice of the night is a late set Gotta Jiboo. Jiboo takes little time getting into bliss-jam mode and shredding. Will it end the set? No sir, you get a quick Oh Kee Pa Ceremony (which Trey forgets how to play, but do you really have to ask if it matters?) before a straight-ahead rocking Suzy , complete with Page going off and Trey giving us some serious arena-rock sustain to end the set. Shine a Light as the sole encore is the last trick from this Sat night set list which will not conclude with the traditional Tweezer Reprise, making us all wait until tomorrow for the bomb to drop. Team Phish wins again. Phish has two outstanding shows in the books in Hampton 2018. Your Sunday show, never to be missed, and Tweeprise, loom, along with the possibility of one of the strongest 3-show runs (along with Alpharetta) in recent memory.
, attached to 2018-10-19

Review by nesta

nesta This was my first time at the mothership and I was un sure as what to expect but now I know why they call it the Mothership. I left there with the biggest contact high that I've ever had at a show I woke up with a hangover and I barely even partook myself. The other reviewers did an absolute fabulous job recapturing the Lift-Off and the transportation that I also felt so I will just leave you with my couple of tidbits from my experience. And the best part is I have two more nights to look forward to.
, attached to 1992-03-21

Review by BillZilla67

BillZilla67 This was a really wild show, and the most packed I had ever seen at a show at the Chestnut bar none. It was a clear signal that the rock club era of Phish was about to be over for good. Solid playing on the era standards. Standout is the YEM featuring "Three Blind Mice" in the vocal jam and then Trey trying to get CK to turn down the lights by saying "Lights Out, Lights Out!" at the end.
, attached to 2018-10-19

Review by sagl57

sagl57 Tonight’s show was an absolute heater, top to bottom. Excellent song selection, inspired jams, and incredible energy. The return of Strawberry Letter 23 ignited the crowd right at the jump and the band never let up. Blaze On went deep in the two hole and while Mock Song caught everyone by surprise a bit, it was an unexpected treat, not to mention fun watching Mike read the lyrics off cue cards on the side of the stage. Divided Sky, Roggae and Meat were clear highlights of the first set before Walk Away nearly brought the whole place to the ground. The crowd was just erupting at that point. And then the second set. Boy, oh boy, that second set. An inspired section of improv that felt like nearly an hour, with the 20+ minute Golden Age serving as the biggest launchpad in a string of outstanding jams. Carini > Sand > Golden Age > Twist was the stuff dreams are made of last night. The Shipwreck quotes late in the Golden Age jam transported the mothership to a different dimension. When we are all ready for a breather, Mountains in the Mist did the trick and was played beautifully before Split closed the set with a fiery, psychedelic journey. And if all that wasn’t enough, a pristine Lizards encore showed the crowd that the band was as happy with the first night of this run as the fans were. Incredible show! 5/5
, attached to 2018-10-19

Review by PhillyPhilly

PhillyPhilly Top to Bottom complete fire show. Strawberry letter 23 second time played, surprise repeat from Strawberry BD night opens the Hampton weekend. Crowd goes wild. Blaze On immediately sends the show into Type II territory and rewards with a serious outro jam taking it past the 13 min mark. Smoothly seg-ing into the third Mock Song ever played (with Mike ensuring he does not butcher the lyrics by having a girl hold up cue cards for him). Divided Sky little rough through composed section pre- “pause” , but Hampton fills with lighters and ecstatic screams during the pause, and the band rewards us with a very nice build and peak. Energy stays up for slowed down Roggae which delivers its own satisfying peak, we laugh and laugh and fall apart in a quick well-played Sparkle, and then Undermind delivers a funk injection which carries over to a very funky Meat complete with Mike / Trey close-up duel and what I’m assuming was the most intentionally arrhythmic drum solo of all time. Rift keeps the energy dialed up even if not perfectly played and then Walk Away *blows the doors off* as a head-banging set closer. What a first set and what a fantastic start to the Hampton weekend. Trey shreds the Carini chords to open second set, and it is a powerfully rocking Carini jam that emerges, albeit a relatively brief one, similar (actually v close timing?) to its outing at Camden N2. 2013 Hampton Carini is still champ, but in 2018 we go into a Sand dance party. Straight forward rocking Sand has Hampton moving. And then Golden Age takes the Mothership into space, and our trip is not short, 23 min jam / alien abduction containing dark symphonic beauty and we have our centerpiece jam of the evening and hopefully a sign of further deep jamming this run and this tour. Twist like Carini packs a very solid jam into a shorter package, dissolving into the relatively rare Mountains in the Mist, which is an extremely well deserved and very nice played breather. And then, after a short late-set funky dance party in Meatstick, everyone’s favorite song about *doin’ it*, Phish seals the deal with a Melt closer reaching mind melting dissonant heights before coming to a final triumphant peak and return. Unreal 2nd set, and Hampton pops yet again as Trey strums the opening chords to your The Lizards encore. Trey’s solo was unusually delicate, quieting the crowd and having us savor the moment together, before building to its usual beautiful melodic peak. I could not possibly be more excited for what is in store for the remainder of this weekend and the remainder of this Fall Tour.
, attached to 2018-10-19

Review by hannibal76

hannibal76 Tonight’s second set was like the universe exploded and we all traveled through space shattered to bits along with everyone and everything else just spinning and splitting into smaller and smaller pieces until we’re all just space dust, like a cloud of space dust blowing through the universe—and then somehow, with an encore Lizards, everything came back together again and there we were, on the concrete floor of the Hampton Colleseum, still burning and pulsating from the obliterated trip through space.
, attached to 2018-10-19

Review by jakemaye95

jakemaye95 jumping off of @vinsanity46 i will try to unpack that second set. (i was in attendance.) first of all, it was my first time at the mothership. wow. what an absolutely perfect venue. sound was unreal, crowd was going nuts, kuroda is the king of kings. anyway, to the set. carini gets us started. begins to turn into some type ii, but was quickly abandoned. this was unfortunate, or so we thought. was worried that there wouldn't be deep jamming this set, especially when reminiscing about the Hampton 2013 Carini. Sand follows, and it's a heater. no real type ii until the very end, again a surprise. would it ever come? little did we know... golden age emerges after a brief sand jam. this jam was, in a word, nuts. i haven't had the chance to relisten, but here is what i can remember: at the start, it seemed like fishman was moving toward just stopping, but trey kept pushing it forward. ultimately, fishman began a syncopated, mostly cymbal-less beat, with the rest of the band building insane noise over the top. ultimately, this rose into a massive wall of sound, with fishman still driving beneath. page began to play some Thrilling, Chilling quotes (shipwreck and unsafe bridge i believe) underneath the noise. all the while, some of kuroda's finest work that i've seen in person. i am unsure how this will hold up on relisten. unlike some of the huge jams we've been getting of late --where it seems like the band is in absolute control-- during this jam the band seemed to allow themselves to lose control. at various points it was unclear if it would fizzle out, continue, segue or build to a peak. ultimately, none of those things happened, as the jam somehow smoothly came to its own end and slid into twist. it was a joy to watch the boys really let one loose. truly electric phish. anyway, the twist was solid, nice MitM to follow. love to hear meatstick, and it was a necessary dose of major key joy for this set. SOAM to close--this found the band picking up where the left off in the golden age, really letting it loose. a quality rendition, especially by 3.0 standards. lizards encore is the best. overall fantastic show, awesome start to the run. can't wait to see what they have in store the next two shows!
, attached to 2018-10-19

Review by vinsanity46

vinsanity46 *from the couch* so I can only imagine how much fun this show must've been at the coliseum, but oh man was it something to behold. Opening with an another BD call back, this Strawberry letter 23 was executed superbly and supplied some novelty to the show from the start. The Blaze On to follow felt perfect to keep the fun loving energy going and gave us another excellent first set jam in 2018. Mock Song was a tongue-in-cheek treat being the 3rd time ever played and the Divided Sky to follow had Trey douse the crowd in flawless execution coupled with classic tone and it is not one to be skipped upon relisten. A well placed Roggae opened up in the jam section to deliver an affirming peak that seem to settle the crowd into a brooding expectation for speed on which Sparkle delivered. I always love this song wherever it shows up in a set and I certainly loved it here. The song selection to finish out the first set was lovely and everything was played near perfectly - even Rift! And the Walk Away to finish was a rager to say the least. The second set... I'm still processing. I'll leave that for someone else to unpack. Final word: wow I'm so excited for the rest of fall tour
, attached to 2018-10-17

Review by SANITY79

SANITY79 What a solid and fun show! The whole band sounded amazing through out the night besides a little flub in the opening of BOAF, which was played diff than usual I liked the diff take on it personally. But to start off the first big jam of the night was CDT. And they played it with gusto! A nice jam put on it that finished the song close to 17mins. Was it just me or did CK5 give a lot of extra love n light both nights? I thought so. Steam was another great song w excellent tone from Trey. Wolfmans was funky as always w Mike leading the jam. And to end the first set a beautiful version of Gin that went a little exploritory and was the perfect song to end the set. Set II Was Where some serious improv happened. Im a fan after seeing Set your soul free in person n they took this song to the next level. The whole band was in unison all night. The biggest jam of the night was def Mercury! They played the standard song portion perfect and started the jam at the end with some dark funk that took me back to 97 fall tour. Def a noteworthy jam among others. Light was next and it didn't disappoint with another solid performance . There were many more highlights from this show and I too am surprised at the rating. I'm guessing cuz half the people read the setlist and said not a lot of big songs here but if you were to listen to this show from start to finish you would change your mind imop. This show is a sleeper. They even played Rocky Top at the end of a second song encore to give it there stamp of approval as a great show.
, attached to 2018-10-16

Review by DrewG

DrewG These were shows #62 and #63 for me, and interestingly enough, they were my first non-MSG indoor shows and my first shows that weren't a New Years run or summer tour. Fall tour, nice to meet you. Tom Marshall, nice to meet you as well before night 2! The room itself was great, feeling a whole lot cozier than its 17,500 capacity would suggest. People were clearly fired up from the get-go—call it tour opener, call it upstaters trying to get over Curveball, call it the surprise banner, really call it whatever you'd like—but this was a rather solid show, tour opener qualifier or not. Moma gets things going with some very fiery Trey-led playing, before jumping into a very fun version of Tube. This one packs a lot into its 11 minutes: crazy alien sounds and synths from Page (more on that later) before kicking into an awesome Trey and Fish led climb that ends with a nice peak packed with a few Mike bombs. Theme was standard, with the > into Free not so much a strange little segue as it was a biffed re-entrance (a lyrics flub in Cities would also show a little rust). Free gets flexible in the Mike funk section, leading to a minute-plus of deconstructed face-to-face riffing between Trey and Mike in the vein of the Camden or Baker's versions of Character Zero. Cool and unique little twist on an old favorite. Army of One and Halley's served as a bridge to the other notable segment of set one, the Everything's Right -> Cities combo, complete with stellar segue. Coming off a summer full of great versions, this Everything's Right delivers the goods, with a serene patient build capped by a nice Trey sustain into some more massive Gordo bombs. Great start. Ghost-No Men-Piper is definitely a nice trio to start on paper and the crowd was definitely into it, but these versions are mostly standard fare with flashes of something great—the 9 to 11~ minute stretch in the Ghost is a good example. After this follows two curious highlights: Twenty Years Later and Show of Life (huh?). Clocking in at just over 14 minutes this 20YL goes to some very surreal sonic spaces in its final 4 or so minutes: weird sludge-y bass, angry and dissonant Trey riffing, Page trying to communicate with aliens via synths, and then a nice slide back into the song proper. Ya know, the dark evil Phish shit people have been begging for. Combined with Kuroda blasting deep reds into the crowd and the entire lighting rig hovering just a pinch above the band—this reminded me of the jaw-dropping Camden Split Open and Melt Kuroda work—the Albany 20YL will almost certainly end up on the jam charts. While Show of Life elicits the standard groans (listen to the 12/31/13 soundboard and hear the guy scream "OH NOOOOO!" at the start of it), this version is really serene, with a spirited vibe and patient playing (very quiet out of the composed section) that serves as an effective counterpoint to the darkness of the 20YL. 2001, Zero and Hood were all high-energy crowd pleasers to send everyone home happy, with 2001 really making the people go loco as always. Fun one, and a good omen for fall tour. Stuff worth checking out: Tube, Free, Everything's Right -> Cities, 20 Years Later.
, attached to 1984-12-01

Review by mikeymelikey

mikeymelikey I’m 39 and just started collecting Phish tapes. This is the first tape I listened to, and it’s a fun and odd listen. I was especially excited about this one because I have never heard Phish this early on. My tape (I say that because I think my tape may be mislabeled) starts Side A with Scarlet and ends with Slave and a band intro. That’s where it veers from the setlist above, and strange enough starts side B with Contact, highway to hell, and YEM (with Yer Blues from Halloween 94 as filler? I’m not joking.). I am not doubting the setlist above whatsoever, I’m just a new tape Phan wondering if these discrepancies are common. Thanks!
, attached to 2018-10-17

Review by coreychung1

coreychung1 I thought this was a super fun show, I dont really understand the rating (3.75 at the moment) but maybe it was a had to be there thing since there was no stream. 1st set was rockin. Warmed up to a crowd control (I am a magnet for that song opener) and right off the bat the band goes into a downtempo CDT. Really got the crowd going, this version is a must-listen, although, it may not stack up to other Chalkdust monsters that have come to the Northeast in the past few years. It is one of the better "finished" versions tho I will say, definitely had some interesting twists and turns in there with a great peak and band interplay. The wolfmans has a nice funky groove and a little extended peak, Mule NICU & gumbo are always welcome, steam was some nice sludgy funk with a good peak, and the gin was soaring as always. Really enjoyed set 1, it plays better than it reads (for those of you questioning whether tn was worth a listen, do yourself a favor & slap it on). Set 2 was good, soul free was good not great. Still not completely sold on that one (although ill bite my lip if they go for another 24min exploration). Highlight set 2 was definitely the Mercury>Light sequence. Real nice funk going into a soaring Light. Trey & Fish were on fire. Trey tone wise was awesome and they chugged along while letting the bass and keys show when appropriate. High energy for the Wilson & well executed slave. A little downtempo Julius got the feet moving one last time and Trey saying "Feels like a hometown show" felt appropriate right before a nice rocky top to cap off the night. That was some quality make up sex. Welcome to fall tour
, attached to 1997-07-26

Review by exiled

exiled About 30 seconds before the Blister jam starts, there is a very brief Crimson and Clover tease (Tommy James, not Joan Jett version) from Trey at 6:22. My guess is it was inspired by the wavy, vibrating sound his guitar makes at 6:13. Mark it .net. Also, not a big fan of the 2nd drummer and YEM>Izabella is great.
, attached to 2018-10-16

Review by youenjoymyghost

youenjoymyghost Really strong show for a tour opener. Tube gets the job done early on with fishman driving the jam via his cowbell and later page with his new synth. Perfect drop into the blues section. Awesome tube. Free had a great duel and was an early highlight as well. Everything's right continuing to dominate! Don't really get the hype behind this 20 years later, it definitely had that evil sound everyone loves but over all didn't grab my attention like the Ghost and No Men before it. Ghost had Mike shining with bouncing grooves and was the set 2 highlight for my ears. Take aways: TUBBEEEEE & GHOST highlighted the show. Phall will be great. Keep bringing the heat in the first set boys!
, attached to 2018-10-17

Review by vinsanity46

vinsanity46 I will pop in here to agree with JakeMaye and also add that (1) the Steam was very scary and dissonant and then dropped back into the 3rd verse sooooo smoothly and (2) this Mercury is maybe my favorite ever. Super dark funk in the jam section which served as a very enjoyable precursor to the bright Light! Very excited to see what the boys bring to Hampton.
, attached to 2018-10-17

Review by jakemaye95

jakemaye95 This was a solid Phish show. Highlight was absolutely the monster first set chalkdust. incredible, must-listen phish, in my opinion. Rest of the set was very good; a fun energy, great song selection (sucker for NICU, the SOAMule was so fun), and some good jamming during wolfmans, steam and gin. Second set was solid. Highlight was the light, which was just a ripping rager. never really quite went type 2, but it was a significant improvisation. the birds transition was obviously horrible, but also it was kinda weird placement. they didn't go deep with it, so it sort of messed with the flow of the set in my opinion. would love to see them take that one for a ride. encore was standard julius and then surprise rocky top. trey mentioned that "these feel like hometown shows," and that makes a lot of sense. the crowd was incredible at both these shows, deafeningly loud at times. such a great environment. overall a quality phish show. don't miss the chalkdust.
, attached to 1995-11-22

Review by Miguelito

Miguelito This show is underrated. Yes, the Rift was cut short. But the Free alone is worth checking out, as discussed below, and is a major highlight. The first set too has some nice highlights. I’ll take CTB to open, thank you very much. The Wilson to follow keeps the energy up. The mid-set Antelope is as good as can be expected for the third song in and this one shows no signs of the band needing further warming up. And then they move into a solidly played Fluffhead. After the opening tunes, I have no issues with the remainder of the set, which are solid but not particularly noteworthy. Back to the Free - this version is the longest to date, which in itself is noteworthy. But length doesn’t always translate into greatness. Here, however, the band keeps things interesting and this version is fantastic, with several distinct segments. While I’m still partial to my favorite version on 6.26.95, this one is a close second even though they’re totally different beasts. The transition into Llama is nice as well. The YEM is fine, but not even close to the version I caught on 12.9.95. The Poor Heart encore is a slowed down version, which is interesting. The band follows that up with the always-welcome Frankenstein. Overall, this is a solid show with an extraordinary version of Free. Despite the aborted Rift, there is plenty to like here and this show seems pretty underrated.
, attached to 2018-10-16

Review by jimsleftear

jimsleftear First tour opener for me. Had a blast. The energy in the building was great. If you read nothing else know this: if tonight is an indicator of the band's readiness to play and play solidly and with some energy, it's going to be a great tour. They came out ready to play! Moma and Tube set the funk and pace right from the beginning...band seemed to be having fun. The Everything's Right -> Cities was fantastic and seamless which is always a treat. Crowd was roaring along. Walls of the Cave was fiery and tight. The second set energy from the crowd was still high. The jams were "fine" but nothing mind blowing or crazy. All in all Page sounded great through all of these jams and helped make them special. Show of Life, my first one live, sounded great and was well placed. The jam was excellent. Highlight of the night was Also Sprach which got people really grooving! Obviously Zero is always a raucous singalong and it finished the set well. Harry Hood as an encore was both unexpected and a real treat. Great way to close out the tour opener. PS: CK5's light rig was moving around like a snake, up/down/wavy, all over the place. It was awesome and also a tad bit distracting from up in the 200 section because it would block view of the band at points. Not bad, just in the way. Peace. Have fun out there.
, attached to 2018-08-10

Review by phishyeducator

phishyeducator What a fun night! Having not seen Phish since Pittsburgh last summer, and having never seen them at Walnut Creek before, I was stoked for this show to get going. Stealing Time - Got a blank space where my mind should be! Good opener, with good energy. Funky B - This rocking/bluesy version got us dancing and shaking our bones quite early. Ocelot/Wedge - Glad to hear these two, and they were well played throughout. Wombat - Who doesn't love a good Wombat? Have that! The stage banter at the end was priceless, with Trey's "Gosh, we talking. This is so[i] weird[/i]!" and then watching him dodging the bugs, while Mike talked about his pet locust, got pretty crazy. Guelah Papyrus - Trey, don't sing this one in the higher octave anymore, lol. Totally dig the song, but dug it more when he returned to the lower octave for the end. BOAF/Saw It Again - Birds was pretty cool, and my buddy Matt was hoping for a Saw It Again, so well met! Timber - Ooooh yeah! Good energy and gets a little dark for a few. Limb x Limb - Love love love this song, and was happy to hear it. Short, but well played. Farmhouse - Ehh, the solo was pretty awesome. I do like Farmhouse though, so I appreciated hearing it. More - Great way to end a crazy set. But the craziness was yet to come... Set 2 opens with a playful Meatstick with Trey quoting and doing the Kiki dance, but Meatstick heads into the "jam" of the evening: Drowned. Great, but short, the Drowned jam evolves pretty seamlessly into a NICU that gets stretched out more than normal. Following a good jam out of NICU, they play the newer song Thread. Not really my cup of tea towards the end (only one man's opinion lol), but the real treat followed: Runaway Jim > Antelope > Jim > Antelope > Makisupa > Antelope, YEM! Jim got our butts boogying good, but there was a moment after they slid slick-as-you-please into the opening lick of Antelope where I looked at the setlist I keep on the back of my ticket stub and wondered "Did they really play Jim, or has it been Antelope the whole time?" A little disconcerting at first, but I resigned myself to having wrote it down wrong (y'all know how it gets about 2/3 the way through a show ;-) ). But then they swing hard back into Jim and I wonder if they even played Antelope at all, or was Jim playing tricks on me, haha. But it was soon apparent that shenanigans were afoot, and that the band was having a lot of fun! The Runaway Makisupa-Lope, or Jim-asupa-lope was a TON of fun! And then they cap off a fun set with a very well-played YEM and a scary vocal jam with crazy lights to send us into orbit, only to bring us down gently with a sweet Day in the Life. Man, what a fun show! Our crew couldn't stop talking about the Jim-asupa-lope even early into the next morning. It was a good show with high energy, well-played music, and just enough silliness to keep us on our toes and giggling. This is why I love this band!
, attached to 2018-10-16

Review by maxhog

maxhog Average-to-great show on paper, but the music here is incredible. Moma Dance was a high-energy opener and absolutely set the mood for the rest of the night. Tube had some fantastic type 1.5 jamming, Free has a fun Trey/Mike duel (I got flashbacks to MPP1 Martian Monster- WOW!), and the Everything's Right jam soared, continuing it's late-first-set-dominance it has established since Camden2 (speaking of Camden2, I couldn't have been the only one who noticed the strong parallels in tonight's set1 song selection with Camden2's, could I? In hindsight the two sets only share 5 songs in common, but it felt very similar during the show) with the -> to Cities being a huge highlight. Theme, Army of One, Halley's, Cities, and WotC were otherwise standard, albeit very well played. Ghost > NMINML was just as good as you'd think (and maybe even better- they packed a lot into that ~25 minutes. Has NMINML ever been that spacey?). The absolute best jam of the night had to be 20YL; Apparently the band brushed up on their hypnosis skills, as hypnotic is the only way to describe it. If you pick anything to listen to from 10/16/18, make it 20YL. The rest of the show was high energy, very well played- and yes, this includes Show of Life, which actually had some kind of jam on the back end of it. The fact that I can sit here and tell you that relistening to this Show of Life wouldn't be a waste of time should tell you all you need to know about this show. Great tour opener! Excited to see if momentum keeps up throughout tomorrow and into the weekend (and hopefully beyond)!
, attached to 2018-10-16

Review by vtspeedy

vtspeedy The crowd during pregame was unusually amped, I thought, and I mentioned to a friend that it all had a feeling like the Worcester 2012 tour opener - small Northeast city, classic indoor venue, big excitement. And so it came to pass. Moma Dance opener gave everyone a chance to settle in but there was something extra on offer as it stretched out longer than a standard Moma opener. Ditto Tube - developed a nice jam and with two funk fest openers the crowd was into it. Good Theme and Free pairing followed. For me, the set then sagged a bit with a Army of One, Halley’s Comet, Everything’s Right triptych but recovered with a nice >Cities and WoTC closer with an extended jam out of the Silent Trees segment. I though I heard a Ghost somewhere in Trey’s warmup strums as the band chatted out the second set opener, and there it was. A solid version but not nearly the 11/28/09 version that everyone was immediately hoping the boys would conjure up. Ditto the No Mans Land and Piper that followed - solid but the peaks kind of left me feeling unresolved. I’m always hoping for that rapturous moment when the inexplicable happens. So when they kicked into 20 Years Later, I figured that it would just be one of those shows that never quite got over the top. Bwahahaha. The jam took an unexpected turn and just grew and grew, bigger, darker, scarier, a seething monster that would not be satisfied until it had eaten everyone in attendance. I turned to Kim and said, “ there’s really no way out of this, is there?” Jaws we’re dropping around me. And yet somehow they reined it back in and landed in... Show of Life. Really? I’ll leave during a SoL encore, so much do I not like this trite, smarmy little song. And yet...it worked. We all needed to breath after the monster ride we had just survived, and the jam was actually a bit extended and pretty. Plus out of the outro jam came a raging 2001 and Character Zero closer that let everyone throw down and celebrate being alive. Then to top it of a Hood encore, more of the raging rather than introspective variety, but everyone left the building pumped and excited for rest of fall tour. Couple of side notes. My first show was here, 12/1/03, and this was my 50th. Nice symmetry. Add in that it was Kelli’s birthday and we had a special evening. Second note. The lights. Whoa. We were on the floor and the rig actually extended out a bit over the rail. With Kuroda’s new (since Bakers Dozen) swooping up and down sets there were times we felt as though we were inside the lights. There were some moments when the projector bodies themselves were being lit giving the impression of weird alien spaceship technology swirling over our heads. Waaay much fun.
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal

© 1990-2018  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by End Point Corporation