, attached to 1992-04-03

Review by Pjfmc

Pjfmc So I thought I'd go through and listen to some of the essential 90s tours or longer section of tours beginning with the Spring 92 West Coast run. However I like to have some context going into something like this so I wanted to hop on tour a bit further out to orient myself in 1992 Phish. So why not just start in the mountains and make my way west? So the music. This is a solid show. It's not a hidden gem or anything but it's Phish so there are moments of the sublime peppered throughout. The first set has really excellent energy and solid song selection. The Melt stood out to me. The second set opens with The Curtain>The Sloth which really works for me, the transition is really fun. Possum is very cool, definitely deserving of it's spot on the Jam Chart. If nothing else listen to the Possum (and why not hang around for a strong and fun Mound?) The YEM is is just OK I mean that in the context of YEM), I liked the vocal jam. Mango though to Suzy is fun and the Hood is good. In the pantheon of Phish this is a Don't Skip rather than a Must Hear, but seriously don't skip it! Glad I listened, see you in Boulder. Post Script: I started listening to the second set again while I was writing this and I already feel like the show is better than I made it out to be. It's a fun one.
, attached to 2010-06-29

Review by sylviemesser

sylviemesser This was my first Phish show. I had been listening to Phish for years and was beyond blown away when I finally got to see them, I loved this show! CMAC is a special place to see Phish, especially for me growing up outside of Rochester/Canandaigua. Will always treasure this show, after all, this was the show that really began my new amazing life into the world of Phish
, attached to 1997-08-03

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Phish makes good use of new and old tunes. Gin doesn't cover much territory, but having it as a show opener is always special. Foam is the business, top shelf version without a doubt. It expresses all the nuances of Foam and it's all the better because of it. Samson Variation was really cool after Foam. You can clearly see it's connection to Foam, and how they're similar. You get a couple new songs in Dirt , Vultures and Twist, slowly simmering and getting character. Twist has a nice little jam coming out of it testing it's potential. Also the segue from Twist to Jesus Just Left Chicago is superb, JJLC is also noteworthy because of Pages extended and inspired solo. This is definitely a show where I prefer the 1st set over the second. The second set has some ideas that would eventually grow to make great sets later on in the year. Julius has a little stretch to it but isn't anything new and spectacular. Simple is strong but not exploratory. Fluffhead is a very straight forward version, well played but still bare bones. Lifeboy is a great choice after the ending coda to Fluffhead. Highlight of the Set is likely Taste, slowly growing the delicate intensity that would eventually lead to bigger and better things as the year progressed. Solid Encore. Slave is strong and Bouncing is bouncing. Overall not a top tier '97 show. But an inspired 1st set is always welcome.
, attached to 2019-08-09

Review by KenNyeThePhishGuy

KenNyeThePhishGuy TAB kicked off a short run of Colorado headlining dates at Denver's newest venue, Mission Balloon - and let me say this is place is extremely impressive. Sat outside at the beer garden and food truck area accompanied by a DJ for pre-show entertainment. Inside had a red-rocks feel with a large pit and tiered-row seating area with plenty of room to groove. Both levels of the venue had plenty of bathrooms, bars, vending machines with sandwiches and snacks, water stations, free earbuds, etc. State of the art sound system and room acoustics. This show was a real concoction of Phish, GOTF, and TAB jams. Cayman & Set Your Soul Free were heaters. Trey took a moment to mention how great the new venue is. It's great to see how TAB really pushes the pace and limits of SYSF as it has become a great new jam vehicle for TAB & Phish. Mission was rocking to Magilla & Jibboo . The debut of GOTF Slightless Escape was a real treat. Tuesday was exciting on a personal level, haven't heard it since the Dozen. Second set songs that stood out: Pigtail, Alaska, the highlight of the show: Ghost (!!), Mr. Completely, blissful GOTF jam A Life Beyond the Dream, and yet again another Sand scorcher. Great show, great venue. Couldn't make n2 or vail, so i'll be getting my disease (plague) on at Dicks!
, attached to 2010-06-17

Review by s1177375

s1177375 This night was like my night in 2010 (amazing set list but no stellar jamming flow) I attended Hershey. No chocolate Harpua surprises no reprises for tweezer no epic inspiration but amazing set list no doubt nonetheless. Minus sugar shack. That song wasn’t even great it’s first time at bat. Limb by limb a life beyond the dream wading in the velvet sea Axilla 1 all kicked it out of Fenway their respectful opening night at bat. Joy and sugar shack are both just ok at best songs. Joy has amazing lyrics I’ll give it that nod but beyond that the only thing that could take Joy to actual Happiness Joy Party Time vibe is with a killer guitar solo matching crimes of the mind chord progressions with Eric Clapton’s and Hendrix upside down skills. I don’t see it happening. But that is ok. My point is A ++ setlist does not necessarily make a great show. Hershey was good. I felt good about Hood but I didn’t feel right about going through a red light that turned green at just the right moment Only a proper slave can do that and this was not that prisoner All to say another great show what would be even better if the performance matched up to the set
, attached to 1997-08-09

Review by aybesea

aybesea I mostly just want to mention that the sound quality of the recording from Phish.in is absolutely outstanding. I've been listening to this entire tour, and this show is easily the best recording that I've come across yet. As for the show itself, it (like the bulk of this tour... or 1997 for that matter) is just a joy to listen to. The first set is simply outstanding... maybe the best of the tour (not counting GW). The second set is solid, though in my opinion not as strong as the first. It's a very, very cool Mike's Groove though... especially Mule.
, attached to 2009-08-07

Review by HippieMama

HippieMama It's been 10 years since this show took place and only now have I been able to look back on it, and even bring myself to listen to some of it. Despite it being one of the best shows of 2009, my fondness for it is bittersweet. After spending the previous few weeks at my mother's bed side as she lay dying of cancer in her assisted living apartment, she implored me to stop coming by every day. She was glad we kept our plans to go see Phish at the Gorge (we bought the tickets before she was given 3 months left to live); she wanted me to be happy, knowing how hard her decision to forgo chemo had been on me. I reluctantly agreed to go, sure that these 2 days would be just a quick break and I'd be right back by her side when we returned. We had only just moved to Washington from Vermont, and this would be a first trip to the Gorge for both of us. So, after one last visit we headed out on Thursday, set up camp and went to sleep, excited to see our our first shows in 5 years. The next morning, I woke up to several messages on my phone. One from my mom's hospice case worker, one from her assisted living facility and one from my husband's cousin, who was staying with our son, at our house. At around 4:30 that morning, my mom -- my only parent and best friend -- had passed away. My husband offered to pack everything up and head back, but I told him I needed to think about it. The more I considered going home vs. staying, the more I felt that I needed to stay -- that that's what my mom would have wanted. I recalled some of the information that the hospice case worker gave us during the intake appointment that covered dying, death, grief, etc. and one of the points that stood out to me is that dying people will sometimes choose their moment to let go, oftentimes influenced by how prepared they feel their loved ones are to handle it. The more I thought about it, the more convinced I became that I needed to stay, that my mother had chosen her moment because she knows there's no happier place for me than at a Phish concert. My husband took care of all the phone calls to family, friends, her assisted living community, the funeral home, etc. When he was done, I told him I wanted to stay. He said that the hospice worker actually recommended that we do. She told him it would be the best thing for me right now, but he didn't want to influence my decision, so he wanted me to think it through and arrive at what I wanted independently of that. So we stayed. Things that are notable about this show for me, personally: "Down with Disease" to open the show was a huge surprise, since they had just played at at the previous show (Shoreline) and we had left it out of our set list baseball discussions because of that. [i]Waiting for the time when I can finally say, 'This has all been wonderful, but now I'm on my way' When I think it's time to leave it all behind Try to find a way to, but there's nothing I can say to make it stop[/i] Also notable for me is that they played both "Pebbles and Marbles," and "Joy" at this show. Everyone interprets what they want from lyrics, but both always came across as parent-child relationship songs to me. [i]We want you to be happy, don't live inside the gloom We want you to be happy, come step outside your room We want you to be happy, 'cause this is your song too[/i] While those songs can be written off as serendipitous coincidences, there is one that I can't dismiss as such. My mother's name was Sally. No, I'm not kidding. Legally, it was Sara, but she had been Sally from childhood on to all who knew her. "Sneaking Sally Through the Alley" was the one song she and I had danced to together at my wedding in 2005... before the stroke that took her ability to communicate clearly and easily, before the heart attack that put her back into the hospital for another extended stay, before the breast cancer she'd had in 2001 returned and metastasized in her bones, ultimately spreading far enough to bring us to the chemo or hospice option. To have those 4 men, who have had such far-reaching influence over my adult life, stand on that stage, in front of a crowd of thousands, and say my mother's name -- repeatedly -- on the day she died, referencing a song with such a joyful memory she and I had shared on my wedding day, while I stood in the audience (crying until I couldn't anymore), will never fade from my memories of that day. It was such a difficult mix of emotions to process all at once; the sorrow of deep, profound loss mixed in with an empathetic relief of release, knowing that her suffering was finally over. On the worst day of my life, after hearing the news I had dreaded from the time as a child when I first came to the realization that a day would come when it would arrive, Phish made me smile, laugh, cry, and stand in awe at the connective power of music. For that, I will be forever grateful.
, attached to 2017-08-04

Review by blazeon46

blazeon46 In the wake of all of the 2-year anniversary of the BD, I thought it would be fun to go back to the shows I was lucky enough to attend. BD was the first time I actually won the presale lottery, and it got me seats to the final 3 shows. I got into Phish in the summer of 2015, and 8/4/17 was my 6th show at the time, so I was still relatively new to the scene. Having been to my first MSG shows in December, I knew how much fun the Garden was. But the Garden in the summer was a whole new ballgame! As we all know, before the run began, it wasn't a given that the band was going to play all 13 w/o repeats. But once it did after the 3rd or 4th show, the it was magical to see how they would handle it night to night. Highlights of the show for me were PYITE>Party Time, Bold As Love>First Tube, and of course NMINML>Everything in its Right Place. The crowd totally was feeling it. Also got to cross Fluffhead and Frankenstein off my list.
, attached to 1992-10-30

Review by subfloor

subfloor My 1st show...memory is a little fuzzy on it...I have no memory at all of the comedy part or anyone being booed off stage, but may have just been socializing during that part. Went back and listened...the sound is a little off putting. I came away loving the band more than I did before seeing them live, so it must have had some good attendance bias. Would not be the last time I got a 1 set show as part of a festival...Several people I knew from around the CT shoreline were present (as was typical of Phish shows from this period).
, attached to 2019-07-12

Review by subfloor

subfloor This show will get buried over time, but the 1st set did exactly what you need going into a 3 day run...it brought out some good funk, got people happy and moving and set the tone for the weekend. Currently one of the best Turtles they've done (and yes, I've listened to them all)...being there "dancing on the hillside" with my friends solidified my love for this version... Highlights: Turtle in the Clouds, Everything's Right Lowlights: Ripcord into Caspian, not the greatest encore ever
, attached to 2003-07-31

Review by misterpeterson

misterpeterson This was my first show. Both my now-wife and best high school friend had been touting Phish for years. I wasn't interested. Firstly, the show was in Camden...not my favorite 3hr drive. Secondly, I wasn't interested in doing stupid drugs in the parking lot. Being "older" and more accustomed to chill vibes at Dead-related shows, I didn't want some jack-ass teen with nitrous to ruin my night. Thirdly, it was going to pour. I brought my poncho, stood next to the guy with the joint, and declared that if they didn't play someone else's music I wouldn't likely enjoy it. And then magic. Sound explosion from Llama...light explosion from Kuroda, and I was off. After this show, I don't know how many re-listens I did of Possum or Harry Hood. Mind was blown when Frankenstein started and my buddy leaned over to me and said "this is someone else's music, dude." I'm much older now, and nearly 40 shows in, and if it wasn't for this one, I probably wouldn't have been as hooked as I am today.
, attached to 1994-10-31

Review by Miguelito

Miguelito I’ve finally made my way to Halloween. What a fun journey it’s been listening to this tour to this point, and I’m excited for what’s ahead. There’s no need to repeat the well-deserved accolades for this great show. However, it’s the Simple that’s worth mentioning as it looks like this is the first time the band really takes the tune out for a spin. There were hints of stretching it out in its prior appearance but tonight the band finally did it. It’s far from an interesting version to my ears but as a huge fan of the tune it has historical significance. Oh, and the Reba is fantastic!
, attached to 1994-10-29

Review by Miguelito

Miguelito This show is a keeper, is consistent and interesting throughout, and a potential contender for best of tour. MFMF opens and this is my favorite placement for this tune. The energy from the band is immediately palpable. After Sparkle, the band heads into Simple which is notable for being a bit more extended than the last couple of versions, giving a hint of its capability as a jam vehicle. It’s not until its next outing, on Halloween, that the band finally stretches it out. And, of course, the band launched into the monstrous version several weeks later on 11.16.94 but I’m getting ahead of myself. Simple leads into a fantastic Jim, and the band is clearly on fire here. This leads into a well-executed Foam. This version is smoking. The Simple > Jim > Foam sequence is really fun and the combo was an insta-re-listen. After Lawn Boy, we get a great Melt. This version is shorter than earlier ones from the tour but it is chaotic, dark and is a worthy listen before transitioning nicely into Buffalo Bill. This is a welcome return, being played only for the second time since its debut nearly two years prior. The transition into the Makisupa is smooth and the song itself is great, taking its time before heading into a chaotic jam, which then transitions nicely into Rift. Wow! It’s worth noting too that this is the only time Rift has served in the set-closing position. The DWD to open Set II is solid, before leading into TMWSIY > Avenu Malkenu > TMWSIY. Another rarity is next, Sparks, which is a nice choice here, and which won’t be played again for over two years. The YEM is fantastic and is worth listening to. Mike and Page both take leads that are really interesting. This is my favorite version that I’ve listened to recently. Closing out the set is a lovely Antelope > Sleeping Monkey > Antelope sandwich. The combo works well here, with the initial transition into Sleeping Monkey being pretty smooth, but it’s the two Antelopes collectively that add another notch to this show’s strength. The show ends on a high note with a fantastic Hood encore. This was a great year for this tune and the band gave this version its all here. Overall, this is my favorite show of the Fall ‘94 tour to this point, containing the right mix of high energy, interesting jams and bust outs. Highly recommended!
, attached to 1990-01-13

Review by samhey

samhey My girlfriend and I came late to the show, as we were engaging in "Visitations" in my dorm at the start of the show. Visitations were (and likely are) a ridiculous requirement of boarding schools that necessitate "3 feet on the floor" between the consenting couple including an "open door policy" such that the in-dorm faculty for the evening could come by and make sure everything was platonic. None of that was going on with us and we eventually arrived at the gym flush, happy and ready to dance. There were about 75 people in the gym, a fair number given that there was a relatively small contingent of deep heads in the school at that time - a steady stream of poor-quality multiple-generation tapes were floating around the school at that time, but only among a relatively small group of fans. But those kids who were fans were big fans. The gym was a small set-up, with the light-board only about 50 feet back from the stage. I asked the light guy (I believe it was Paul at that time) if they'd already played Fee (which I thought would delight my girlfriend, now my wife), and he said they already had. When we arrived I think they were deep in a David Bowie set closer. They played a ferocious Fire encore (or set closer, but I'm pretty sure it was an encore). At this show I bought a Junta cassette (yes they sold cassettes) and one of the original rainbow logo white t-shirt. Both were done after a few years from over-use. I was hooked after this show and I still look back fondly on it almost 30 years later. This was one of the best things about Exeter I experienced, plus it was a fun night overall for my girlfriend-now-wife and we're still together after 17 years of marriage and 30 years knowing each other. Love you guys
, attached to 1995-06-20

Review by ND61400

ND61400 So, on the one hand this is an official release from '95, which is unquestionably a good thing. One should never complain about an official release, let alone an official release from '95. The playing is as tight and energetic and fun as you would expect. It's a good show, and as filler you get the obscene Theme -> Tweezer -> Tweeprise from a couple nights later, which, hell yeah. On the other hand, this is one of a handful of official releases that, while I'm happy to have it, does leave me scratching my head. Why *this* show? There are more than a few '95 shows that deserve official release treatment, and if you're looking for something from the summer in particular, I will enthusiastically point you in the direction of 6/26 SPAC, which is a kick-ass show. As for this show, the Mike's Groove does feature a pretty slick (and unexpected considering where the Mike's Song ends up) -> from Mike's Song to Contact, and the Slave is a particularly beautiful rendition and probably the highlight for me. Now, on to listen to 6/26...
, attached to 1997-07-26

Review by aybesea

aybesea So, after seeing the ratings for this show and listening to it in its entirety, I felt compelled to add my 2 cents to this review page. If this show, with its outstanding LxL and YEM->Izabella in the first set, and its incredible Timber (Jerry)>Bowie in the second set, were to be played today in the era of 3.0, this thing would be easily rated as one of the best shows of the tour. That means lots of 4's and 5's. So, why on earth is this show sporting a measly 3.8? Seems to me that this little gem has been unfairly overlooked by a lot of heads... give it a spin!
, attached to 1998-07-20

Review by ND61400

ND61400 1998 is an awesome year, Summer '98 (Europe and US) in particular. You have do a little bit of scrolling to find this show in the '98 top ranked page, but that tells you more about this era of Phish than this show in particular. The band is just so absurdly good during this period that a show with a 20-minute Gin opener, a front-to-back great Set 2 (with a capital-"G"-Great Hood), and a superb, extended, grooving Halley's encore doesn't particularly knock anyone's socks off (at least relative to this time period's heavy hitters). When you put this show on and think that this is just what Phish did in 1998, that's remarkable.
, attached to 2019-06-29

Review by Phishcake94

Phishcake94 This was, unfortunately, the only show I managed to catch this summer. I had planned to hit all 3 nights but I procrastinated on getting tickets and then funds didn't line up. To say I was kicking myself for missing night 3 is an understatement. Still, this show was a lot of fun, as they all are live. Not sure how much relisten value there is, but they took some risky set list choices, some payed off while others...not so much. Also, a side note, the friend I came to the show with had just gotten out of his sister-in-laws funeral (suicide at 21, very sad) so the KV stuff & GotF stuff was much more pertinent than it probably would have been if not for that. It was much easier to relate to where Trey has been coming from with his recent song writing style. So we got stuck in line for Mike's, but I could hear it from outside the venue and it instantly got everyone pumped. A Mike's Groove opener is usually a sign they came to play (thinking 12/30/17). We got into the venue during Hydrogen (also when the party favors started to hit!) which is always such a beautiful song. I did notice they played a good amount of repeats from the 2 night stand last year. We were using the bathroom and finally got to our spot on the lawn (center, about 3 rows from the rail) during 'Paug. Pretty standard but well played. I always hope they take Weekapaug out (like they did at MSG last year) but it was not to be. Divided Sky was its beautiful self, this song really has a much different feel outside than it does at indoor venues. I'd go as far as to say that it shouldn't be played if not outside. ER had an insane year in 2018, and while some of the versions this year were definitely very good, none really hit the heights of the previous year. Still, a nice groove developed and lasted about 10 minutes. It seemed there was a distinct intent to 'micro jam' this tour. Maybe because they were trying to shove so much new material into the sets. Sometimes the micro jamming was great, it's cool to hear songs go straight to type II. Guelah is always super hype, love this song like mad. Sparkle is fun (another one from last year) & roggae was also very pretty. 46 Days closed out set 1 just as it had the previous summer. Typical scorching rendition. One of the people next to us must have eaten some stuff during set break because all during set 2 he was using me and my friend to jump up and down on & would literally grab every glow stick he could find and hurl them at the pavilion. It was funny at first but definitely got annoying after 30 minutes. Anyway, Blaze On opens it up, my expectations were high, and while the jam was solid & the transition into NICU was interesting (as well as its placement in the show) it would start a trend of jams being cut far too short. This was a running theme during this tour. I'm not sure if, as I said before, Trey was rushing songs to their conclusions to make room for the new KV and Ghosts stuff, but for me personally it's frustrating to hear a ripcord just when the jam is starting to take off. Golden Age was an example of that. I adore the song and the jam was nice and funky and interesting but then got cut short for Ruby Waves. A word on Ruby Waves; I LOVE this song ever since hearing it. The chorus was really impactful with my buddy's sister's funeral earlier in the day. I think I listened to the song on repeat for a few days after the show. The jam was pretty good as far as I remember & showed real promise for the future (which we didn't have to wait too long for at Alpine). DDHVL is a perfect example of another big issue I had this tour: they seemed to not want to jam the KV stuff at all this tour. For me, it makes more sense to showcase the music they made as a group last year and a good portion of the fan base loves. I do like the Ghosts stuff, but KV feels more at home in Phish than GotF. Unfortunately every version of DDHVL was sub 4 minutes this tour. They could do soo much more with these songs. Rift was very confusing at this point in the show. I'm not a huge fan of it to begin with, but I know most are. Stars is a really sweet song, sorta like Terrapin & the jam on it was very interesting and experimental, with Mike whipping out the drill at the end. The playing here sounds a lot like a 70's era Dark Star. Then comes Waiting All Night, another song I like a lot, but not at this point in the show. They really lost a lot of momentum from Rift through WAN. Ghost picks it back up though and is going somewhere cool before... yup, another rough ripcord into SANTOS. I was at NYE last year so I dig the song a lot. It seems to be taking the place of Zero which I'm ok with, but they gotta let these songs come naturally if they want to win people over. We got one of a very few encore YEMs, always a blast live. Nothing mind blowing outside of the encore spot though, but a tight version. We left during the vocal jam to beat the crowd since I thought that would close the show. I was a bit upset I missed Grind, but I'm glad it was that and not Space Oddity or something else a bit rarer. Overall, I don't think it's a show most people will go back to much. It was a lot of fun live though, but they lost a lot of steam mid way through set 2 (another common theme this tour). I actually liked set 1 a bit more myself. I think N3 was the obvious best of the run, but N1 is pretty close to this show in terms of quality, if it didn't have that amazing Mercury in it. That alone makes that show a good bit better than this one. Not knocking this show at all though!! Sorry for the loooong book I just wrote haha! I only review shows I go to so I had a lot to say about the only one I attended. Here's to hoping we get to go back to MSG for NYE again!
, attached to 2009-06-04

Review by phunkytime

phunkytime This was my first show and man did i have no idea what was going on! So funny to look back and listen back though. Super fun night, TTE and Waste probably killed the energy late in the second set i think otherwise theres some great stuff here. Think it deserves more credit than the ratings show but it also holds a great place in my heart :). What a great adventure these past ten years and over 100 shows later have been!
, attached to 1993-07-24

Review by mavisdavis

mavisdavis I love this show for many reasons but sitting here twenty six years later and reflecting on it is a bit odd in that it certainly doesn't "feel" that long ago but also reminds me that I have been seeing this wonderful band for more than half my life and still love hearing them perform and love to anticipate the next show. I am so very thankful they did not give up and continue to push themselves. This date was a classic, sunny, summer day and we left western Mass. early to meet friends out east in Middleborough. It seemed as though everyone in our group had great "kind" bud except me so I was in good company. We got blazed, busted by a friends mom (it was her house and foreshadowed the Guelah to come later) and headed out to the "packy" to load the coolers with nothing but the finest Michelob cheap students could buy. We were set up in the right hand lot as you enter Great Woods closer to the venue so that worked out nicely. Balloons were being passed and I saw my first casualty of the gas and learned a very good life lesson: don't bogart that balloon my friend! as this kid huffing nearby did the faceplant into rock. It was shocking but he bounced right back up with a little help from his friends and was no worse for the wear. We had pavilion seats and word was the show would sell out. We had seen the growth locally as the band used to play small clubs like Pearl Street and the Umass Student Ballroom so there was a provincial pride that they were playing such a large venue. Inside, it did not feel sold out as the pavilion was easy to maneuver and "upgrade" our seats before show time. Llama openers always kick ass and kept the lot party rolling but Horn was oddly placed and allowed us to continue our search for perfect seats. Nellie Kane was a new one to me but I loved the bluegrass energy and the Divided Sky that followed reinforced my wise decision to buy the ticket and take the ride. When Guelah came next, we all had great laugh at the "through the bedroom door intrude" line since this exact same thing happened to us just a few hours prior. Rift was also newer to me but remains one of my favorite to hear live to this day and this version was tight and well played and stood out to me for the interplay and vocals. Stash was scary in a good way and I was amazed by the diversity of tunes to this point. Mango continued that trend with classic Phish silliness and Bouncin' was a big hit with the swelling crowd. Word must have spread about the ease of seat surfing as we locked down low and centered for the rest of the show and were never hassled to move. The Coil impressed me with the vocals, delivery and that damned outro that hits you in the feels every single time. Wow and only set one. I couldn't recall a concert experience that could compare in it's execution, style and range of emotions. More please and onto the second set. As a movie buff, I was amazed by the 2001 and thought is there anything these guys can't do? I had no idea it was played at nearly every show that summer and assumed a one off. I was a regular listener of the Junta & Lawnboy CD's and did not have many live tapes and when we got the double whammy of Split and Flufffhead, well that was gold to me following the 2001. Maze was also newer but no less impressive than the previous songs in pure execution, speed and technicality. Another of the classics that I still love hearing. Glide was a nice breather tune and lyrically fun. I honestly can't remember when the slide and glides came out but do recall them being used and hilarious. These were a telemarking "exercise" phenomena for a brief time but may have been used during Mike's. I just remember them being fun and was completely sold on the whole show. Sparkle seemed like a bit of a throw away tune but was up tempo and has grown on me with time. Mike's brought back some evil Phish but then they changed on a dime with beautiful Hebrew ballad that I could not name but could recognize. It was a startling contrast and just kept me amazed by the performers and then back to rock and roll with ease and a rollicking Weekapaug. Phew, could it get better or more fun or more weird? Why yes it can, how about a little man in a dress singing Prince with a vacuum? I was sold, this was by far the most fun I'd had at a concert to date and we still weren't done. Daniel ramped up the energy once again and they blew the doors off with a classic rocker to close. Wow, what a time! Is this how every show is? Golgi was a blast singing in a community choir and well, hell, why not a Freebird to close? Sold, absolutely sold. This was my first show and left a clear impression that truly hasn't receded in time. I feel so very fortunate that I chose to attend on this particular summer day and here we are so many years later still waiting anxiously for the next announcement. Thanks Phish for being there!
, attached to 2019-06-28

Review by imdano

imdano Listened to every night of this tour. I think the Birds / Wolfman's is the strongest two tune combo of Summer '19. Both may be too much on the shorter side to be considered Type-II beasts, but the brevity is totally made up for with the sheer quality, competence and ......wait for it....PURPOSE. I think this should be one of our new adjectives here. 36 years in, you just have to admit that sometimes the longer jams tend to be aimless at times; I dare you to disagree. These are both overflowing with group direction and dialogue; superb.
, attached to 1994-11-26

Review by jubman

jubman If, like me, you hold a special place in your heart for 93-95, for Machine Gun Trey, for the jubilantly hosed-out, maximalist arena rock version of Phish, well, do yourself a favor and give this show a spin. You will already be familiar with the elegiac Slave from ALO and, very likely, the record-holding masterpiece of a Bowie, but those two, brilliant as they are, simply do not tell the whole story. The entirety is just so deftly played, from the absolutely pummeling Myfe > Possum, Guyute intro through the grinning, victory lap encore of Rocky Top. What's perhaps most notable, if not strictly amazing, given the overall quality of execution from this era, is that there's not a dud in the bunch. Song selections that, to some, might look like lulls - or at least rote - on paper, feel fresh, joyful, even vital. If I Could, Poor Heart, Cavern, and Sample positively shimmer with that 94 energy. What's more, alongside the rightfully regarded canon of the Bowie and Slave performances - and, heck, even Sweet Adeline feels like a perfectly placed breath after nearly 40 minutes of the former - are riveting, goose-bump-inducing takes on Foam and Lizards. There is certainly no shortage of other contenders - 1994 alone has so many transcendent crushers (Bomb Factory, Chicago, Columbus, Providence, Sugarbush, Red Rocks, the White Album, for crying out loud) - that move me. But, gosh, as @hoodharry opened their review of this particular monster, "This is my all time favorite phish concert. This for me is the epitome of why I love phish." Amen, Mr. Hood, amen.
, attached to 1993-08-20

Review by Masses_Hardware

Masses_Hardware This was the first live Phish recording I ever heard in its entirety, given to me in the early 2000s by a HS buddy who thought I might like it. I was completely transfixed, start to finish, and it remains—musically and sentimentally—the most important show of their long and incredible career to me. Even years after I reset my standard for their early-mid 1.0 excellence with another legendary Red Rocks show on 6/11 the following summer, 8/20/93 will always live in my heart as the first and best. I can't write as well as previous reviewers about how good this show is musically; it's been said, and I don't need to add more. However, I will simply say that the setlist, pacing, jamming, and overall 'mood' of the show is perfectly executed cover to cover... There are, additionally, two or three 'all-time' best tunes in this show, with the Slave>SOAM most notably occurring in succession. There aren't two consecutive songs in the Phish catalog that better sum up what they are capable of... And in that sense, this show is totally representative of who they are on their best days: Moments of pure, unadulterated bliss, dark and brooding tension, epic breakthroughs and high, soaring peaks, and more: Signaling, teasing, narration, humor, banter, covers, vacuum solos, acoustic guitar, and a capella. Incredible that it all fit into one show.
, attached to 2012-07-01

Review by TerrapinTrip

TerrapinTrip I am a bit late to reviewing this show, but after seeing the Saturday Alpine show of this Summer 2019 tour (my 7th show - unless you count the five TAB shows and one MGB show I have seen), I decided I am going to go through all the shows I have been to. Well, here it goes: I went to this show with my older brother, and two friends, and this everyone's first show. I remember that as this was my first show ever at Alpine, I was very excited and dropped some lucy before even getting to our spot in the parking lot. By the time we started walking through security I was feeling pretty great and was ready to start dancing. Security was pretty chill and I remember they didn't even check my cargo pockets in my shorts that I had hid some bud in. Once the music started, I was diggin the reggae vibes of Soul Shakedown and get blown away by the Vultures. The baseline on Gotta Jibboo always gets me going and I was groovin' to it, but it was Dirt that really got me early in the set. As I had only really been listening to studio Phish, Dirt was my favorite song at the time and I was super pumped that they busted it out. It was played very sweetly, and was a nice break from the heavy jamming on the previous songs. The rest of the set was great, my mind was blown by the Frankenstein keytar madness. The set closing Squirming Coil was really lovely though, especially Page's piano work. Squirming Coil is another favorite of mine and the piano solo at the end really got me. The C&P was a lot of fun, and the transition into No Quarter was really seamless. From what I can remember, the entire lawn section was raining glowsticks during No Quarter and it was syncing perfectly with the music. The Light and Ghost were good, but it was the Back on the Train into Farmhouse that got me dancing in the middle of the set. I was really happy with the set-ending combo of Heavy Things into Joy into Julius. Joy was another of my favorites at the time, and so I had gotten all three of the songs I wanted most during my first show. I also remember laughing my ass off during Meatstick when Trey brought all the audience members up onto the stage. Even though the show was great and the crowd around us was pretty cool, not too many chompers, the fireworks out in the lot for the upcoming 4th were really fun. They were going off everywhere as my group was chillin and waiting to get out of the lot. All in all, it was a killer first show and Alpine has been my favorite venue since. Hope anyone else who attended has a great time as well, it seems like most people did. Much love.
, attached to 2019-07-14

Review by TahoeDawg

TahoeDawg After a week I have finally digested last weekend at Alpine Valley. This Summer brought my wife and I (and our kids) back to our roots in the midwest. We made the plans in late Spring and committed to all three shows at Alpine and we believe it was one of the best collective decisions we every made. Friday- Just ripping out of the gate, Saturday- Shared the show with Aunt Heather as we convinced the Wisconsin resident this was her best option to go to her first show, Sunday- My oh my. . .when we walked back to the car the collective awe that the Phans were in will never be forgotten. And after a week of revisiting each of the shows it is a hands down no doubter that Sunday will go down as an all time drooler, if you were there did you turn and drool on the one next to you? I did and will never forget it! Hope to see you at Dick's! Blaze On! TahoeDawg
, attached to 1999-07-07

Review by yam_ekaj

yam_ekaj wanted to hop in here bc I recently discovered this show. i will say that people aren't completely off base to say it's somewhat inconsistent. that being said, i just want to talk about the 2001 for a moment. sure, it starts with 8 minutes of dark ambience that builds into a somewhat-standard funky rendition of 2001. some may have a problem with this. i personally do not. the 8 minutes of noise to begin the set is something i would kill for phish to do now. when fishman finally drops in with the 2001 beat, you can hear the crowd go absolutely insane, and the band follows it with some sweet funk. i love this jam and listen to it all the time, including the 8-min build up. i'd recommend giving it a spin!
, attached to 1994-10-28

Review by Miguelito

Miguelito This show is very good, but not quite on level with much of what went down in the previous couple of nights, or the next night, where the band caught serious fire. There are, however, a few highlights and things worth noting and it being Fall ‘94, the band’s playing is still on a very high level. The first thing worth mentioning is the I Didn’t Know opener, which hadn’t appear in this slot since 1990. Interestingly, Llama followed on that occasion too. This was also the last time IDK has opened a show as of this writing. It’s an interesting choice and wouldn’t be my top one at that. But the Llama that follows gives an immediate boost of energy to the show. Next of note is the Stash, which is a bit short but still quite solid. It sounds like it’s about to really take off towards the end of the jam but it was not meant to be. Still, this is a respectable version. Also of note is that ATR makes its final appearance for the year, heading closer to its current shelved status. Lastly, the Bowie > Manteca > Bowie is the clear high point of the show with some interesting things going on in the initial, pre-Manteca jam. This jam goes through different phases, from a lovely little quiet part into a chaotic section in typical Fall ‘94 fashion that includes some vocal antics and a brief Llama-esque jam before they find their way into Manteca. The post-Manteca jam is pretty wild as well, and includes some fun Manteca teasing as they’re closing it out. This show is solid but I prefer the preceding couple of shows, as well as the next night (where they knocked it out of the park). That being said, the Stash and Bowie Manteca sandwich are worth a listen.
, attached to 2019-07-13

Review by NICU4LIFE

NICU4LIFE I will leave my review relatively short for this show as it is difficult to only talk about the first two nights of Alpine without referencing night 3. Not that Sunday’s show belittles or even overshadows the first two nights but due to the magnitude of Alpine Night 3, the whole Alpine run must be viewed under the context of that Sunday’s show. With that being said I have three major points for this show. 1) Finely-tuned Jams: It amazing to think that it has been ten years since I saw my first Phish show at Alpine (yes, I am post-hiatus phan) and I when listen to the 09 Alpine shows compared to the shows of 19 there is a noticeable difference. The dynamism, the synchronicity and the fluidness of the jamming has grown to an unbelievable quality over the past ten years. The spirit and love of the band can still be heard in those first post-hiatus shows but that the boys have spent 10 years relentlessly practicing their craft of playing together and you can easily hear the fruits of their labor. Although the jams in this show are not long, each one is fine-tuned and smooth. Strong segueing in the second set and you could hear how well everyone is playing off each other. Again, nothing ventures into major exploratory or crazy levels but the execution and improvisation was first rate. I would recommend the Blaze On jam from the first set and the Runnway Jim -> Undermind jam in the second. 2) The Battle Over Ballads: Every year I have to hear complaints, grumblings or even down right hatred of Trey’s ballads. Those “feel good”, “lovey dovey”, “everyone hold hands” songs. The critiques mostly center around the reality that those songs lower the energy and so instead of everyone getting into the groove they instead go to the bathroom. Now I like Trey’s ballads. His soft and thoughtful songs pull at my heart strings. And I also understand how the soft Trey songs can change the energy of a show and sometimes not for the better. Sometimes I like that energy change. Sometimes it works perfectly, a well needed/executed shift after a crazy jamming period. And the performance of Trey’s softer songs provides the full expression of Phish, both the crazy and soft/thoughtful manifestations of this amazing band that I love. Now sometimes the change of pace and energy does not go that well. In my opinion, that was in the first set with the playing of Frost. I did not care for Frost being played after Ya Mar and then have the next song after Frost be The Sloth. Now I have seen shows were Frost is used very well in a set (Allstate 18 Night 1 second set Frost comes to mind), but I did not care for the selection of Frost that night and its positioning next to The Sloth. Again, that is my humble opinion and I know others enjoyed Frost that night. Actually, I was not anti-Shade person and enjoyed hearing Shade in the first set. But of course, Phish can play whatever they want and I will still honor that decision. 3) Long Live Kasvot Vaxt: Now I have heard that there has been another complaint (and I don’t know how much this complaint is true) that Kasvot Vaxt songs are not a welcome addition to Phish jam repertoire. And that is so far from the truth. Kasvot Vaxt songs are the perfect addition to Phish and hearing Kasvot Vaxt songs player throughout this tour have been a jubilant experience. Night 2 at Alpine definitely offered an excellent performance of The Final Hurrah and Say it to Me S.A.N.T.O.S. I particularly hope that SANTOS has a regular position as an encore song as it works flawlessly into a show. Also, it allows the encore regular Character Zero to be played in other parts of the show. Actually, the Character Zero this night was one of the best versions I have ever heard! In total, Alpine Night 2 was a high-quality show which showcases how the depth and growth of Phish shows has evolved. But this show was preparing us for an ultimate gem which was Alpine Night 3.
, attached to 1998-07-21

Review by ScottM104

ScottM104 Flew out from Ct to meet a buddy of mine who was driving cross country and moving to Maine. Sure, I'll hop a flight, and drive back with you, as long as we can see Phish first. It was his first show and what a banger it would be! It was hot! Like, super hot, but what shows weren't in July/August? I remember there being no lot scene whatsoever which I wasn't accustomed to seeing being from the east coast. I was told stories of "tent city" and how nobody wanted to risk getting busted down there. Anyway, needless to say, I had nothing with me except for a few pre-game beers. That was weird in itself, but this show would not dissapoint. Ac/DC fluffhead opener was killer but, that Tube set the tone early. We even got a slight tube reprise out of it. Great Antelope to close the set. 2nd set was magical. Mike's>Simple was incredible, and then the debut of bittersweet motel. Mike's bass solo to open 'paug went deep!! Ghost> she caught the Katy was terrific! Great show, and a great start to a magical mystery cross country adventure.
, attached to 2019-07-14

Review by ACDC_Bender

ACDC_Bender This show gives a new life to the saying "never miss a Sunday show" When Phish announced a three night Alpine run to wrap up the summer tour on their 20th anniversary at the venue; There was no doubt in my mind where I was going to be. Experiencing the sound at the venue, the beautiful countryside, and the great times my friends and I had soaking it all in at a rage friendly lake resort in 15'....It was hard to imagine matching that experience, let alone surpassing it? Well it did, boy did it ever! I never have seen so many phans with their jaw dropped, drooling asking wtf was going on before in my life! BRAVO BOYS!
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal

© 1990-2019  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by End Point Corporation