, attached to 1990-01-29

Review by thelot

thelot I love a good audience recording, but this one is about as bad as it gets! It sounds like it was recorded in the bathroom of The Haunt with a 1970’s tape recorder. With that said, I’m happy that at least part of the show is available. The recording cuts in midway through Lizards. Unfortunately, the crowd chatter overpowers the music throughout. It’s hard to give a fair review when you can barely hear the music being played. Weekapaug and Jesus Left were the highlights for what’s available of the second set. It should be noted that this version of Harpua does not begin with an Om-Pa-Pa. Pretty straightforward version other than that with some fun Purple Haze teasing.
, attached to 2016-09-02

Review by Kilometer

Kilometer My first and only time reading the fucking book at a Phish show. I’m glad it was this show and I got to spend the time with friends. First set Ghost, NMINML and 46 days were incredible. Picked up some souvenirs from merch during setbreak. Second set Antelope, Mercury, WOMBAT, Tweezer, an epic Suzy with Trey on Marimba. Bug, one of my favorites, for the encore. This show was a treat.
, attached to 2016-09-02

Review by Kilometer

Kilometer My first and only time reading the fucking book at a Phish show. I’m glad it was this show and I got to spend the time with friends. First set Ghost, NMINML and 46 days were incredible. Picked up some souvenirs from merch during setbreak. Second set Antelope, Mercury, Birds, Tweezer, an epic Suzy with Trey on Marimba. Bug, one of my favorites, for the encore. This show was a treat.
, attached to 1990-01-28

Review by thelot

thelot Much better recording for night 2 at The Front! Beautiful SBD available for this one! Suzy cuts in missing a second or so. Good version of Split Open. This pairs nicely with Tela. Fluffhead keeps the energy up. Another excellent version of La Grange tonight. Forbin > Mockingbird is always welcome. Communication Breakdown closes out a decent first half. Wilson opens set 2 tonight with the same arrangement as last night. This leads into a fiery Antelope. Some funny stage banter follows Antelope regarding how hot the room is. Fishman says “I think it’s time for everybody to take off their clothes, it’s just getting to warm in here. The only way we’re gonna be able to deal with this is removable of clothing and turn the sprinklers on.” Trey: “if you guys take off your clothes Fish will I swear…if you do it he will!” lol Bouncin’ does a good job at cooling the crowd off. Caravan never gets old for me. Another fantastic version. Coil continues the new song streak. The piano outro slips nicely into YEM. YEM is electric tonight! Amazing version! Even the vocal jam is top notch. This slides nicely into Gin. Mike’s Groove wraps up set 2. Groove absolutely slays once again! Lawn Boy, BBFCFM is the perfect one two punch to close things out. Solid show tonight. Amazing recording! Other than the minor cut to start, there’s literally zero flaws. The taper even included the house music after BBFCFM! Good stuff!
, attached to 2022-05-31

Review by mindleftpants

mindleftpants This was my first show, and it was a magical introduction to the wondrous flow of sound Phish is capable of producing, not to mention the captivating light show by Mr. Kuroda. I'm a young lad, and I used to think I knew a lot about music and live performances. I used to think I knew about psychedelic experiences. This band within 2 sets and an encore completely re-wired my brain. Did some gelled happy juice contribute to this? Of course. But in retrospect, I wouldn't have had it any other way. Everyone to whom I spoke to start the show was thrilled to hear it was my first, and I felt very comforted by the common "Have a Great Show!" It is important to note I had absolutely no idea what I was getting myself into with regards to both Phish and the copious amounts of plastic, but my friend assured me of the euphoric power of both. I was ready. SYSF was a very potent message for me to hear for my very first song and I started trusting the band to take me wherever they wanted. Most of Set 1 was a blur, but The Squirming Coil was a beautiful ending as the sun set. Then, darkness fell. The end of Axilla II both amused and horrified me and I was already suspended in space before 2001 even started. Getting funked out into Light brought me back to a similar feeling from the start with SYSF and this turned into one of my most favorite jams from all of 2022. Mountains in the Mist was so soothing, and Meat brought back the funk... and the psychedelia. Golgi->Slave->Cavern sold me to come back the next night, but 46 Days -> Tube solidified my new obsession. In summary, as biased as one can be about their first show, I still think this show deserves a higher rating than a 3.5, and I left this show feeling blessed and bathed in sound.
, attached to 2003-02-16

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: David Bowie -> Catapult -> David Bowie: Exceptionally rare for Bowie to open a show, only 7 times in 490 times played. Last time was 12.30.93 – kind of a good show, maybe you have heard it lol. Great indication of how awesome this Vegas show was going to be. They would open the Miami NYE run with this too! It has only happened two times since, both times in 3.0. Definitely a solid Bowie here and the Catapult in the middle is nice if not a bit forced as it seemed to come out of nowhere. -> Horn: > standard Guyute: Not bad not perfect but not a train wreck either. Round Room: The effects coming out of the vocals are so sick. Page owns this jam! I've often wondered after they knocked this one out of the park. Why they put it on the shelf someone in the band must not have cared for this song. this gym, I would strongly recommend and will re-visit for many years to come. Golden Lady: > I was listening to the one and only version of this song from October 20, 1994, on the drive from Denver to the Los Angeles show so when this popped up at the show I was completely stunned and overjoyed, I love this tune! Poor Heart: Somewhat surprisingly this is played pretty well outside of some difficulty with the ending. Pebbles and Marbles: Some really bad sound issues one minute into this. The beginning of this gem feature that distinct 99 Trey guitar sound that I personally love. He is ripping the Thomas and Mack Center a new one in the early part of this jam. Well jammed but nothing that I would necessarily seek out for a re-listen. SET 2: Down with Disease -> Seven Below -> Down with Disease > Trey laughing in the beginning here before they start it up. Trey says Fishman doesn't know this song he's going to f*** it up ???? sure enough after Mike's they solo intro. The part that comes after that is a mess as Fishman comes in late and screws up Trey. Severe sound issues in Seven Below around 4 and a half minutes in. Can someone pinpoint the timestamp of the Dave’s Energy guide tease in Seven Below? In terms of the jamming of this segment – it is solid yet unspectacular. But the full body of work is impressive. Anything But Me: Standard. > Piper -> repeating theme 12:50. That repeating theme the Trey hits on and then carries through for multiple minutes starting at 12:15 is so cool it's not perfect but once they really ramp it up is fantastic! Definitely the highlight of the night if not both nights. This version is a must hear for any Piper fan. Makisupa Policeman: Killer segue out of Piper. Character Zero: Standard rager. ENCORE: Friday – Again? Sloppy, too. Ugh. Replay value/Summary: Just a great show, so much fun almost top to bottom with the exception of that brutal encore. Why do that? Round Room and Piper I love and will continue to seek out in the future. The Bowie and DWD sandwiches are great bodies of work but not necessarily ones that I would actively reach back for or recommend. I would rate this show as a 4.2 out of 5.
, attached to 2003-02-18

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Runaway Jim: Bit sloppy in parts. Has a nice, sort of soaring quality to the jam. Water in the Sky: Standard. Twist: Trey skips this line in the first stanza of lyrics: And substituting every sound. Page creates a nice soundscape, but Trey gives him no leeway to grow it. Major rip cord. The ending is a bit sloppy. The Squirming Coil: I love the placement!!!!!!! Trey hits some sour notes leading into “The muscles flex the mother's ring” Very short page solo Brian and Robert: YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSS! I know at the show I might have been a bit meh on this placement but relistening twenty years later, it makes me smile so hard it hurts. Trey has slight Vegas voice in the first few lines here. Page *I think* is in the wrong key in the end of this song. Stash: Slight bit of slop in the beginning. Trey flips these two lines Control for smilers can't be bought (Maybe so and maybe not) The solar garlic starts to rot (Maybe so and maybe not) – jam starts of nice and quiet with Mike thumping away. Trey quickly escalates this one though into a more frenetic pace. Some whale calls in the mid 8’s. The jam is mostly rushed through without much thought or care, but Trey still manages to give it a decent peak. Obviously not a great version but for Stash fans that have been starving this was still fun. Huuuuuge ovation after this. The Wedge: Take the highway through the Great Divide gets a huge ovation. Birds of a Feather: Nailed composed section and lyrics. Jam is short and pretty meh. Nothing to see here… Lawn Boy: Crowd just eats this one up. The appetite to see Page croon is over the top – and for the Cactus solo too of course. Folks were just going off. Had to have been the loudest ovation other than perhaps the Baker’s dozen? Walls of the Cave: Page is just a bit shaky in the intro. Jam is realized at 10:45. Let’s go! Unfortunately, this jam really doesn’t do that much, IMHO. SET 2: The Moma Dance: Moma – Treys opening licks just sound…raunchy. Raw. Anyone agree? Trey is a mess at 2:06. Mike picks up that slack. Jam begins at 7:42. Fishman is an animal in the midst of this jam just driving the band for more, more!!! No raging climax, things get very chill around 11:38 and melts into… > Limb By Limb: Can’t tell you how much I love this version. Have always loved this tune although got a bit wore out with it in 97 and 98. In the late 7’s things are getting dark and murky, pretty cool. Can’t think of too many of these that have gone minor chord style? Big time reverbs from trey in the early 9’s. was super cool in person, almost as much on tape. Again, in the 10’s Fishman is just owning this jam. Unbelievable work. Late 10’s Trey decides to wrap up, but not so fast my friends. Early 11’s are witness to sweet trills. And then he just opens it back up for the opportunity to kill it some more and in alignment with the original theme of the song. Fucking brilliant version. Would re-listen and rec. Thunderhead: Super tight into the lyrical section. They had obviously been practicing this a good bit. Trey is sloppy in the close-out – 5:10’s. Divided Sky: What a strange spot. At the time I was pumped but I was on quite a headful. Looking back, not fond of the placement. Vocals are strong though. They must have practiced as everything up to the ‘tramps’ section is spot on. Trey is a bit sloppy around 7:39. Not sure what toy Trey is playing with in the late 13’s, but I love his tone here. Very cool. I loved this Divided Sky then. And I love it now (1.19.23). Would re-listen and rec. Carini: What a strange spot x 2. This one is straight out of Trey’s 1999 playbook. Those great effects that turn his doc into a demon. Nasty. Gritty. If you were there or listening on tape and in the right head space, this jam will take you to that uncomfortable spot. Love it! It’s short but sweet. Would re-listen and rec. You Enjoy Myself: Mike sounds amazing throughout. Post tramps starts off as groove based with Trey strumming away until about 13 minutes when he starts picking away at a theme. In the 17’s and 18’s Trey lets loose a ripping solo that sounds awesome. The vocal jam is pretty nuts, who is it that sounds like a chanting monk? -> The Lion Sleeps Tonight: After a couple of minutes this slips into The Lion Sleeps Tonight vocal jam. I thought this was very fun at the show and here on tape. Would rec and relisten to this YEM for sure. ENCORE: NICU - Trey does this weird, delayed singing on some lines in here, it’s odd and he does it some in the Stash. I remember quite a discussion about this on Phishhook back in the day. This was the first time they ever encored with NICU – second and final time was 7.15.22 – never happened in 1.0 which is interesting. Mexican Cousin: Why do they never play this anymore? Love this song in small doses, once or twice a year or so. Replay value/Summary: LxL, Divided Sky, Carini, YEM. Disappointed by Moma, remember it being quite a bit more than what I just relistened to. I feel like this show has never quite got the credit it deserves. Was I blown away walking out of there, no – but I really enjoyed both sets and the encore. There are solid highlights for sure. Woke up in a fog the next morning and made a beeline for Chicago with a buddy of mine from Phishhook. I would rate this as a 3.8 out of 5.
, attached to 1990-01-27

Review by thelot

thelot The recording for this show is pretty poor. The overall mix is pretty boomy. The show starts out pretty standard for what they’ve been up to so far this month. Burlington gets it’s first glimpse of the newly debuted Bouncin’. Wilson is up next after a brief hiatus. This one is a little more hardcore than previous versions. Good stuff! However, I wish the quality was better. It’s possible the pitch was fast for Set 2 of the Tree Cafe because Bag and Reba were played at their regular tempo tonight. Nice version of Reba with a tape flip post jam. Weekapaug delivered a hot little jam to close out the first set. Set 2 starts off with two newly debuted covers, Communication Breakdown and Caravan. Both well played but it appears the pitch is slower than the first set. Nice YEM. The vocal jam is entertaining. Towards the end they transition into what I would describe as jungle sounds. It’s pretty clear the pitch is slower when they start up Coil. Decent Antelope. Lots of tape warble during the Marco section. This continues a bit during Terrapin. Nice playful version of Sky to close out the set. Unfortunately, the levels are all over the place. Interesting take on La Grange tonight. This version starts off with a nice mellow blues jam that drops back into La Grange proper. Excellent version!
, attached to 1994-04-08

Review by Monsignor

Monsignor This was my first show. It sounded much better than my 5th gen bootlegs. First set sounded like a heater to my naive ears. I steadily descended into the madness of the dark circus. I was surprised to tolerate the “Bouncin’”as us 16 year old know it alls had decided the song was an effort to “sell out”. Perhaps still my favorite It’s Ice. Spilt open and Melt also holds a special spot in my heart still, nearly 30 years later. The BBFCM with Mimi reminds me that sometimes you may be too young and dumb to realize the impact that a singular event can have on life’s trajectory. Grateful.
, attached to 1994-12-31

Review by MrPalmers1000DollarQ

MrPalmers1000DollarQ Coming back to add: Trey teases "Shine" by Collective Soul in Mike's Song. Surprised nobody's picked up on this at .net, especially considering the role that song would go on to play in the following year's NYE gag. On the Relisten recording, it happens around 5:38 - 5:57 on the Mike's Song before Buffalo Bill.
, attached to 1990-01-26

Review by thelot

thelot Nice SBD recording for this one. Like Hanover there are some flaws. Unfortunately both sets are missing large chunks of music. Antelope cuts in half way through the jam. This appears to be the middle of Set 1. Another beautiful version of Tela follows. Divided Sky is up next. I can’t imagine what must’ve been going through the minds of some of the lucky folks that were in attendance for this one. Carolina gave everyone a breather before the newly debuted Communication Breakdown closes out the first half in grand fashion! The band just absolutely slays this version! I wish they continued to play this throughout the 90’s! Set 2 opens with newly debuted Coil. This version doesn’t differ much from Hanover. This fades into a rippin’ version of Melt. Trey fumbles the first couple verses of Esther and then the tape fades out shortly thereafter. Luckily it fades back in just as Reba starts. There’s some tape warble to start but quickly gets back on track. This version is noticeably faster paced than the versions that have preceded it. Compare this version to the one 6 days ago in Hanover. Great Reba tonight! Jesus Left is up next. Rarely played but always welcome. This version doesn’t disappoint. AC/DC came out of the gate swinging! I thought the pitch may have been off but I think it’s pretty right on. Like Reba this version is noticeably faster than usual. Damn this version kicks ass! Lawn Boy does a nice job of cooling off the small audience. MSO is noticeably faster as well. Nice Foam! Before Caravan starts up Fishman says “here’s one with almost the same beat!” Fantastic version! Unfortunately the tape cuts out following Caravan! Ugh!!!
, attached to 1990-01-26

Review by thelot

thelot Nice SBD recording for this one. Like Hanover there are some flaws. Unfortunately both sets are missing large chunks of music. Antelope cuts in half way through the jam. This appears to be the middle of Set 1. Another beautiful version of Tela follows. Divided Sky is up next. I can’t imagine what must’ve been going through the minds of some of the lucky folks that were in attendance for this one. Carolina gave everyone a breather before the first known version of Communication Breakdown! This closes out the first half in grand fashion. The band just absolutely slays this version! I wish they continued to play this throughout the 90’s! Set 2 opens with newly debuted Coil. This version doesn’t differ much from Hanover. This fades into a rippin’ version of Melt. Trey fumbles the first couple verses of Esther and then the tape fades out shortly thereafter. Luckily it fades back in just as Reba starts. There’s some tape warble to start but quickly gets back on track. This version is noticeably faster paced than the versions that have preceded it. Compare this version to the one 6 days ago in Hanover. Great Reba tonight! Jesus Left is up next. Rarely played but always welcome. This version doesn’t disappoint. AC/DC came out of the gate swinging! I thought the pitch may have been off but I think it’s pretty right on. Like Reba this version is noticeably faster than usual. Damn this version kicks ass! Lawn Boy does a nice job of cooling off the small audience. MSO is noticeably faster as well. Nice Foam! Before Caravan starts up Fishman says “here’s one with almost the same beat!” Fantastic version! Unfortunately the tape cuts out following Caravan! Ugh!!!
, attached to 1994-12-31

Review by MrPalmers1000DollarQ

MrPalmers1000DollarQ Sure, it's a shorter NYE. I can only speculate how that would have made me feel as an attendant, but I think the quality of the music and the wondrous spectacle of the gag would have more than made up for any other shortcomings associated with this show. First set contains a great lineup of tunes, not the least of which is a blazing Divided Sky, capping off the tune's best year. Set 2 features a damn powerhouse Maze and an excellent Mike's Groove with Buffalo Bill / YSZ filling. The transitions are tight and the jamming excellently musical. Set 3 obviously boasts the band's most memorable and iconic NYE gag, but also closes out with some more great playing on CDT, Suzy, and especially Slave. Toss in a celebratory Simple->ALS encore and I'd say it's a pretty sweet way to wrap up Phish's best year yet. On to '95!
, attached to 2022-09-02

Review by andy_co

andy_co This is the show that rekindled my love for Phish. The 3 hour drive to my first Dick’s show was intense with anticipation. My work for over 10 years made it not possible to travel over Labor Day Weekend. Having not seen Phish since 2009, I was so ready and excited to see them again. My friend and I got in line early to grab a good spot on the floor, so almost 5 hours of waiting as it got close to 8pm. The disappointment began when the crew started covering all the equipment and lowering down all the speakers. The voice coming through the PA said, “Please leave the stadium and go back to your cars and wait.” Well, almost no one went to their cars but took cover in the stands as the rain started. High winds and rain made it look like this night was NOT going to happen. Then, after a couple of hours, the rain started to let up and everyone rushed back down on the field. Maybe 20 minutes later the band appeared. This night was much like a Phish song, tension and release. Lots of tension during the storm, lots of emotions, disappointment, and then the release: The first notes of Carini. “That naked Dude.” The “BOY” in YEM. We all were getting what we came for. After not knowing if this was going to happen or not. Ghost- the funk Julius- the classics just kept coming. Reba -my god Reba. Trey’s soloing during the quiet part of Reba was it for me. This was the Phish I loved. Tube – 10 min. Tweezer! Weekapaug- great energy in the crowd; And ended the set with a rocking Chalk Dust.WOW! A surprising Pebbles and Marbles for the encore was perfect. Amazing party after the show in the parking lot. After this show, I’m seeing Phish whenever possible for as long as they are still playing.
, attached to 1990-01-20

Review by thelot

thelot Beautiful SBD recording for the first circulated show of the year. Unfortunately, there are flaws throughout, but overall this is a very nice recording of a great show. The evening starts out with the debut version of Carolina. It’s possible this was debuted at one of the first three shows of the year. This almost sounds like it could be from an audience recording. Bathtub Gin sounds a little more polished tonight. Nice version of YEM. A short tramps section segues into the B&D section! This then leads into a solid jam section. The second B&D section is abbreviated before heading into the vocal jam. Doo-Wopish vocal jam tonight. This fades into the debut version of Squirming Coil. Nice clean version. No extended Page solo as of yet. Possibly another debut song follows Coil…Caravan!! Love this cover! Beautiful version! Tape flip after Caravan. The beginning portion of Lizards is cut. Antelope closes out set 1. The Marco section had a little extra mustard tonight. Set 2 opens with Oh Kee Pah > Suzy. Next up is the official debut of Bouncin’. Nothing was mentioned regarding the debuts that took place in the first set, so it is possible they were debuted at one of the first three shows of the year. Reba was well played. This paired nicely with a beautiful version of Tela. La Grange heated things back up with a ripping version. Lawn Boy and Esther cooled things back down before launching into a strong Mike’s Groove to close out the set. Mike’s second jam was extended out a bit more. Weekapaug slayed! Hood wrapped up the evening with an exclamation point! Fantastic show, even though the flow was a bit up and down during the second set.
, attached to 1995-06-14

Review by MrPalmers1000DollarQ

MrPalmers1000DollarQ Mud Island is certainly a one-peak show on the whole, but that's not to say the rest of the setlist is devoid of any worth. I really love the Don't You Want to Go? opener and wish they'd bring this tune back into the mix...it would probably fit into the 3.0/4.0 Phish catalog quite nicely. The rest of the first set features some great phan favorite standards like Gumbo, NICU, Mound, Cavern, and Silent in the Morning, along with some more special tunes like All Things Reconsidered and Spock's Brain. Possum is pretty sweet, as Trey's solo rips high, even if the jam isn't too experimental. The Melt closer, I'd argue, deserves to be on the jam charts. Sure it doesn't go too far out into the deep waters, but there's some real cool harmonic cycling going on there akin to the early Free jams where Mike and Page serve as the groundwork for an ever-dissonant and intense Trey and Fish duel. From '93-'95 (and probably beyond), just about any second set that opens with 2001 is going to fucking rip. It might not come in the Also Sprach, or in the Poor Heart, but Mud Island Tweezer is a spectacle to behold. I believe the longest Phish jam to-date, Mud Island Tweezer feels caught halfway between Bozeman '94 and the Worcester Jim of Fall '97: a delicate balance of out-there psychedelia and some more melodic/harmonic focused segments. The evolution of this jam tells a story to the listener--one worth hearing many times to fully grasp. Full of creativity, energy, inspiration, and groove, this jam's length is probably only a drawback in that it daunts the uninitiated. Otherwise, the time is well spent, if you ask me. In any event, the Acoustic Army palette cleanser and WMGGW closer feel especially apt in the shadow of a 50-minute musical jaunt. Top it all off with a nice Simple (love the Jump Monk tease in there; very similar to some later Manteca teases that would commonly fill the same spot in the tune), Rocky Top and Tweeprise...that's a pretty sweet show. Of course it's hard to compare the remainder of the set to the standalone behemoth Tweezer, but this is some strong summer '95 Phish.
, attached to 1995-06-10

Review by MrPalmers1000DollarQ

MrPalmers1000DollarQ Great doning Makisupa opener which bleeds excellently into a rockin' Llama. What a killer way to start of the show. The short-form early Caspian is an interesting listen. Seems like the original purpose of the song was to serve a similar function as Sparkle: a short sweet song that the audience can have fun singing along to in between the jams. The following It's Ice features a pretty sweet, extended underwater jam with wonderful piano work and dynamic swelling from the rest of the band. As much as I love the funkier jam section of Free we all now and love today, it is cool to go listen to the '95 wall-of-sound style jams they used to work in this one. Killer YEM (Red Rocks seems to do that...) with a cool HYHU VJ segue into Lonesome Cowboy Bill. Set II Mike's Groove is really what it's all about though. The second Mike's jam brushes up against Simple for a minute before things turn to go deeper for what is probably the most unique Mike's Song since 12/30/93. The band works their way from some nice '94/'95 style exploration right into Hydrogen and then deliver a biting Weekapaug that really does well to highlight each of the band members' skills. '95 is a great year for Mike's Groove, and this is just the start. Fun to hear the audience reaction as they realize A Day in the Life is in the encore slot.
, attached to 1994-12-30

Review by MrPalmers1000DollarQ

MrPalmers1000DollarQ First YEMSG show. Crazy to see how far the band has come and the legendary status a Phish show at MSG now holds. Like the '93 Great Woods show, this setlist feels a bit like a proof of concept at times as the band faces a new highwater mark in terms of venue grandeur. Set I in particular is pretty straightforward. Nice ALO Wilson opener, great AC/DC Bag with some nice playful moments of tame improv, and a well-played but [i]relatively [/i]bland Stash. The Mule pushes the envelope a bit more, but otherwise Set I would be pretty digestible for the uninitiated attendee. Second set sees significantly more comfort and improv. The Tweezer available on LB13 fits right in with the other greats from Fall '94 in terms of experimentation. Really love how much Page is allowed to take the driver's seat on this one. YEM acts as another high point for the show: a touch slower and funkier than others from this era, the jam is allowed to really build from the ground up and reaches a fantastic peak before a slick BnD section. Last callout is for the Hood. Not as exploratory as some of the others from fall tour, but certainly a spirited cap on the band's first appearance at the Garden. On the whole, not sure this needs to be at the top of anyone's must-hear list, but Tweezer and YEM are awesome and the sentiment associated with the show make it a worthwhile listen for any dedicated phan.
, attached to 1989-12-31

Review by thelot

thelot Really nice audience recording for Set 1. Unfortunately, the second set is a bit wishy-washy. It still sounds ok through headphones. The tape for set two may’ve been left in a hot car for an extended period of time or something. Thanks to the taper for opting for a microphone recording over plugging into the soundboard. I believe Ben Hunter introduces the band. Calling Phish “the definitive band perhaps of the 90’s” Who knew how definitive they’d actually become in the years ahead…Amazing! Things kick off with a somewhat predictable I Didn’t Know opener with Fish entering mid song in a top hat, tux tales and a g-string! Oh the humanity! They follow this up with a solid YEM. Short but powerful little jam with a slightly longer than normal vocal jam for the time. This fades into Oh Kee Pah > Bag. As Bag fades out Trey announces that there is 30 seconds left until 1990. Auld Lang Syne segues into a high energy Antelope. Nothing too out of the ordinary with this version, but a great choice for the first song to kick off the 90’s! Lizards keeps the party vibe going. The first Satin Doll since the summer makes a surprise appearance. Always a welcome treat! This pairs nicely with a nice high energy Highway to Hell to close out the first half. This audience recording does a great job at picking up the high energy vibe of the crowd that night. I love that someone brought in a whistle! lmao Mike’s Groove kicks off set 2. Short powerhouse Mike’s. Weekapaug slays! Ya Mar keeps the energy up. Split Open is a little sloppy in sections. The jam is short but rages. The rest of the set is well played but pretty straightforward. Side note: (Crazy to think that on the 30th anniversary of this show we’d be entering into what would become a worldwide pandemic! A New Years gag gone wrong with Trey having to be saved by the Rescue Squad atop a platform over Madison Square Garden.)
, attached to 2022-12-30

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Down with Disease: Love the direction this one takes in the early 8’s. Trey is playing with tons of purpose and Fishman is driving this bus. Late in the 10’s and early 11’s Trey gets that ol’ whale call going a bit. Tastefully though. > The Moma Dance: Like DWD, every note seems to have a purpose. They came to play tonight. Pebbles and Marbles: Nice! Interesting to see how DWD and Pebbles so close to one another in a set since both have similar jam structures seemingly. Standard Pebbles, but a welcome sight to a setlist as it was only played two other times this year. Theme From the Bottom: In the late 5’s, this bad boy is going Type II and the crowd loves the direction. This version is certainly an all timer, no doubt about that. Right up there with the likes of 2.25.03, 6.16.00, 6.7.95, 10.22.14, and 12.31.14. Really strong jamming here. The last few minutes of this one are fantastic, I love all the effects. > Reba: Wow, can’t believe they follow up that awesome jam with another heavy hitter. Guess they are intent on levelling the joint tonight! Solid Reba right here, thought it sounded really good. The Howling: Standard. Bet this was a ton of fun to get down to. > Foam: First thought was, oh that is odd seeing this so deep in the set. Then I checked out ihoz and that the last 7 times they played Foam that 5 times it was played deep in the first set. Huh, the more you know I guess. > Run Like an Antelope: Oh hell yes. How about that crowd energy when they drop into the jam? That is what it’s all about right there. Reminds me some of the 12.31.02 Piper energy. Crowd giving all the love to the band that they can, letting them know how appreciated they are with the last three sets of really good stuff. Too bad Trey’s playing going into the jam is Marty McFly’d. Doesn’t matter. On nights like this where they give us all they can, it’s about the energy and not the technical prowess. Big, big, big peak. Nicely done! Just a smoking, smoking set. Wow!!! SET 2: No Men In No Man's Land: Mike sounds awesome in the early 11’s and beyond. Very chill jam. Absolutely electric peak in the early and mid-19’s. Extremely impressive. Ripped HARD. Golden Age: Cool jam, Trey gives it a Gotta Jibboo vibe in the late 13’s. Big peak in the late 15’s. Sand: In the early stages of this jam things were a bit disjointed, everyone kind of doing their own thing – check out the 7-minute mark. But once you get into the 9’s they start employing some big, noisy effects and out comes that 99’ish Trey backwards guitar sounding stuff in the late 9’s. In the mid 11 range this thing has evolved into big guitar rips. Very hard rocking. Eventually in the 14’s this has found its way into a dark spot, deep in the muck and mire – nasty, edgy, gritty. Just the way we like it. Sick has hell here! Reentry is a little rough and forced and then into… > If I Could: I am sorry, I just can’t get over Trey’s vibrato singing. It is corny, distracting, embarrassing. Beautiful jam in the middle. But it just kills me that Trey doesn’t take a solo anymore at the end. It’s just not the same song without it. I Always Wanted It This Way: Things go the way you would mostly expect here. In the late 8’s it gets a good bit more energized, and this jam is taking off here. Trey goes all rock star mode in the early tens. Backwards guitar stuff is back in the late 11’s! Things from there reach a huge crescendo. WHAT A SET!!! ENCORE: Chalk Dust Torture: Great encore! Standard CDT but in the encore, slot just plants a big, fat stamp of approval on this puppy. Incredibly rare placement. Tune has been played 496 times and it has only been the encore 18 times and only once in 3.0 (10.24.10). Replay value/Summary: Theme (all timer), No Men (all timer), Golden Age, Sand, I Always Wanted It This Way. That first set is just a total smoke show. Complete hell fire! Somehow, they delivered a second set that was even better. Very, very impressive show. I’m all in on this one: 4.5 out of 5. Show is blistering!
, attached to 1992-11-22

Review by DomDewilde

DomDewilde A couple notes to add: First, I can't remember if it was directly after Suzy Greenberg or perhaps after they finished Maze, but in a brief quiet moment this dude toward the back yelled, "Put Suzy Greenberg on the back burner!!" to which the band and some of the audience laughed and Fishman clapped with his drumsticks as if to say, "Agree!". It was funny. It wasn't that the dude wanted it off the stove altogether, he just wanted a little break from it.... Also, it took some effort to get the Big Balls back from the crowd, though I suppose that was par for the course at shows where they used them. We get a little rambunctious from time to time hahah. Though Faht had a backing track for Fish, nevertheless the arena was filled with people playing along, making all kinds of whistling and bird calls during the tune, which was cool. I feel like Fish said it that night, but my memory is fuzzy and it's possible that I read it somewhere else - that the original title was Windham Hell (a goof on Windham Hill Records). Lastly, a personal note - I learned a very valuable lesson that night... Or, I should say, in nights subsequent to that night. I learned about the total subjectivity of the experience, and how what my mind brings to the table is every bit as important as the notes that the band plays. This was a great show, no doubt about it. But Bailey Hall was the first time I left a show thinking, "Yeah, that was pretty good, but I think with Phish I'm starting to feel like 'Seen it, done it' and may be ready for something else." For whatever issue I had, the show just didn't click that well for me. That was only my fourth time seeing them (!!!). Now, over 30 years and a hundred shows later, I see how foolish I was. I've had countless peak experiences since then. Full-on transcendental moments again and again. Times that truly inform the person that I've come to be. So the lesson I learned is that I'm not going to always get "there". There are many dynamics that factor into a show, and now I know that on the very rare occasion that I leave a show feeling "ho-hum" about the experience, I never lose faith. I know to come back. Those experiences await me, and Phish continues to surprise me and elevate me all these years later. What a dumbass I was in November of 1992!
, attached to 2003-02-15

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Llama: Tons of energy coming out of the gate! Wolfman's Brother: Great version! Lots of thick funk which shifts to a groove-based jam eventually. Would relisten and recommend! > Reba: Solid yet unspectacular. Life on Mars? I was so, so excited to hear this. Never thought I would hear it live again. Had only seen it once at Clifford Ball so this was a real treat. 46 Days: Standard. It's Ice: Sloppy. > Frankie Says: Will take this anytime I can get, love this tune! > Run Like an Antelope: Pretty mellow version until the climax which has a ton of tension and release with a punchy ending. Nice work! SET 2: Waves: Standard. > Bug: Sloppy and bad placement. > Ghost: Nothing to outlandish here, just a really good, solid jam. Would relisten and rec. I do like the stop start feel it has in the middle of the jam and the sort of choppy nature of a good chunk of this jam. > Free: Crowd goes nuts for the feeling I forgot line of course and Mike tears up his solo. > Harry Hood: I love Trey’s staccato playing early on in the jam, very cool. This Hood is kind of all over the place. It has a very meh climax with Trey just lazily strumming into what anyone would think would be the typical ending. But wait, there’s more! They go on to get very intense and aggro with this taking into a unique direction. Pretty cool - not the last time this would happen to a Hood in 2.0. Big time loops after the climax. Would relisten and rec! ENCORE: Sample in a Jar: Standard. Replay Value/Summary: Good show, nothing too crazy though. Energy of course was bonkers! Would rec Wolfman’s, Antelope, Ghost, and Hood. This show for me is a bit better than LA so I am going with a 3.9 out of 5.
, attached to 1989-12-30

Review by thelot

thelot The quality for the second show of the New Years run leaves a lot to be desired. The pitch is a hair sharp. It starts out pretty bad but gets a little better midway through Gin. Set 2 starts off with a decent Gin. Split Open contains the OG Fishman solo prior to the ‘Steam Dream’ section. Nice upbeat versions of Ya Mar and Suzy. Nice loose version of Foam. The rest of the set is pretty lackluster for a second set. Trey wishes everyone a happy New Years Eve when they come back out for the encore. They dive into a cool debut version of Auld Lang Syne before segueing into the first Mike’s Groove encore of their career.
, attached to 1994-12-29

Review by MrPalmers1000DollarQ

MrPalmers1000DollarQ Love the way this show starts out: classic, strong Runaway Jim opener with some nice type I improv and a super smooth segue into a heyday era Foam. Very lovely version of If I Could then juxtaposes with a pretty odd Split Open and Melt, which parallels some of the 2022 Melts' "non-musical" tendencies of chaos on Trey's guitar. Horse->Silent is standard, but well placed after Melt. Pen and IDK are what they are, but the set closes out on another big high note with a nice riffy-intro Possum. The jam charts put it well to compare the third quarter of the jam section to a '94 Tweezer/Bowie as we get some pretty dissonant deviation from the typical blues harmony in some moments. I believe this sort of play on Possum became a bit more common in '95 and beyond (see Niagara Falls). After a Guyute warm up, we get to the star of the show: Providence Bowie. I'm often hesitant to write about the mega jams like this one for fear that I'll miss something or fail to serve proper justice to such a highwater mark in the band's improvisational history. As such, I'll leave at this: this jam's got it all...okay one more comment: I love the Eye-of-the-Tiger-esque ascending melody Trey works into the peak. Probably my favorite version of my favorite Phish song (though other '94/'95 versions do manage to hold a flame). From here, there's not too too much noteworthy: Halley's is straightforward and there's a nice Lizards. Could honestly do without the HYHU session in this set considering we already heard IDK, but it is what it is. GTBT is fun with the extra LZ teases, and I like the Long Journey Home encore choice.
, attached to 2022-12-29

Review by mosesbrown

mosesbrown I left the night of 12/29, love at my side, with the biggest smile on my face- all I wanted to do was inhale fumes, eat hot dogs, and remain in that evenings vibrations. It was a night to remember. A week later and a proper re-listen while recovering from covid, I find out my fungi rotten brain was not playing tricks on me as it has so many times before. This show is the real deal- top to bottom, start to finish. I especially loved the memory game jam at the end of the Possum- which after re-listening I am still not sure what Trey was trying to say....but I guess we need to let them know where the party is at.
, attached to 1994-12-10

Review by MrPalmers1000DollarQ

MrPalmers1000DollarQ Pretty solid tour closer. Really love the fact that the band didn't entirely abandon CDT Reprise but it remains such an elusive rarity. Set 1 features an exciting, rhythmic, and droning Stash, as well as a another ripper Divided Sky characteristic of '94. Set 2 kicks off with the familiar ALO Simple, and we later get a fairly exploratory Mike's Groove. The Mike's jam has some of the same flavors of improvisation present in many of the summer '93 versions, spending some time really breaking down and even transitioning back to F# from the F drop. Trey's Weekapaug solo starts off with some uplifting playing and the band takes the Type I jamming to the edge a few times before things eventually die down to a moment for Page to go solo on the clav, when he takes the opportunity to head into HYHU. Great choice in a callback tune to the band's first Halloween, too.
, attached to 1989-12-29

Review by thelot

thelot The quality for this show is outstanding. The only downside is that Set 2 is completely MIA. The set that’s available is well played but is pretty standard fair for this time period. With that said, it’s still worth a listen since it’s one of the best recordings of the year. Highlights: Sky and Groove
, attached to 1989-12-29

Review by thelot

thelot The quality for this show is outstanding. The only downside is that Set 2 is completely MIA. The set that’s available is well played but is pretty standard fair for this time period. With that said, it’s still worth a listen since it’s one of the best recordings of the year. Highlights: Sky and Groove
, attached to 2022-12-30

Review by tag_it

tag_it Gotta be one of my favorite NYE run shows ever. The first set blew me away and I had zero expectations for the 2nd. The 2nd set just keeps getting better better and better! The band was experimenting a lot it felt like and damn did it pay off. Sand was a big highlight for me, must hear. This is why we all keep going to shows, for nights like this
, attached to 2022-12-29

Review by rjmasterson

rjmasterson Even among a slew of special dates around NYE, 12/29 continues being a reliable home for instant hits. As IndolentFool said in their review, this was an absolute barnburner; I cannot think of any word more apt than that. Fluffhead opener! And it [i]absolutely rocked[/i]. That wasn't the end, though; far from it: the first set was full of vintage jams - each one was a contender for best version of the year of its respectful song. When I met up with friends at setbreak, I said to one of them that "That was a classic" in reference to the Gin, but he responded with "Well, which one? They were all classics!" To fool the crowd into thinking the set was ending with a supercharged Slave was another masterstroke, and the finally set-concluding Blaze On left us punch-drunk in the best possible way. Set II was obviously no slouch, either - a fiery Bowie begat Everything's Right, and then an increasingly rare non-12/31 YEM during the YEMSG run was sublime. The Ruby Waves that followed was seismic in its issuances of jam, and the rest of the set was equally cataclysmic, concluding with a triumphant Character Zero. Rounding everything out, the Guyute encore opener was a welcome warm-up to the explosive Possum that finished things up. This show is definitely worth listening to again and again, and while I'm trying to type while acknowledging recency bias, this felt like an instantly vintage Phish performance. It's one I will certainly revisit.
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2023  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by Linode